We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Priceline
$150
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$150
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
alec w
Auckland, New Zealand
Great Value
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2021
Well priced. We stayed 4 nights in a twin room unit with cooking facilities and a lovely spa bath, plus cooking facility. Bed comfortable and a solid range of TV programs.

Recommend to all as good value for money, nice location too, close to River bridge and main street entrance
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$187
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $187
0.3 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Priceline
    $143
0.9 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.2 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Priceline
    $98
  • Expedia.com
    $98
1.1 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Priceline
    $160
1.0 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $169
2.7 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free parking
Visit the Hokitika gorge
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
    $150
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double bedroom
Priceline
$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • eDreams
    $105
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$87
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • eDreams
    $87
4.1 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $76
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
29
41
17
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
41
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size studio unit laundry facilities comfy bed motel units shower town kitchen tv microwave noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

We are couple from Wellington passing through Hokitika. This was our second visit to this motel. Friendly reception gave us the last room. It exceeded our expectations. Numbet one for us, was no air freshener lingering, number two an up to date bathroom with a new modern toilet, the only one we came across in a week of visiting motels in the South Island.
Ask for Unit one, it has two bedrooms, lounge, and kitchen. Fresh and very clean, highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cookingali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2021

We stayed one night, the man in the office was pleasant and welcoming, the unit was clean and looked to be recently repainted, it was a good size. The man asked if we'd been to Hokitika before, we hadn't, he recommended driving to Hokitika Gorge and Lake Kaniere which we did, well worth it. Also said if we wanted a simple, good meal to try the pub 'over the back', the Pioneer, a good choice. Handy to the main shopping street, we'd be happy to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2020

Booked in and asked for the two bedroom unit (we prefer more space when it is cost effective). Overall size of the room was excellent and it had everything we needed. It appeared to be their son on reception when we arrived, he was pleasant enough. It was clean, tidy and functional so did the trick for the one night perfectly.

Only downside was having to park a little away from right the unit but that's nothing major.

Would be happy to stay again if we were travelling through.

Room tip: Two bedroom was was excellent if you want more space
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

This hotel is located just as you enter Hokitika. Decent location and a short walk to town centre. Rooms comfortable and clean but certainly not new or modern. Hosts were a little strange. When checking in the lady says to me "That comes to $339." Then mutters under her breath "Not sure how that works, but anyway". Insinuating it was too cheap and we got some amazing deal? An interesting way to speak to a new guest. Also had issues with the host overcharging for the laundry (room says $4 but she charged $5. Principle not the money) she also removed our washing from the laundry and put it in the dryer without asking or checking if it could all be tumble dried. Tried to act as though she was helping but really she just had her own washing to do. Frankly the guest laundry should not be the same laundry that the hosts are using to do their washing. Other issues with hotel - piles of dog poo all through the trampoline and mini golf area and a 6am train every morning that was very loud. Our stay was OK but the hosts could perhaps remember they are hosts and customer service comes first.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Really impressed at this treasure find for an overnight in Hokitika. Very clean, warm and spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. Reasonable rates. Will definitely be back and a great base for a backyard NZ visit. Walking distance to town, restaurants and the beach. Great friendly hosts. Thanks

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DebzG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews