We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
23
31
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
31
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent nights here comfortable beds big tv two singles walk into town would stay here again towels wifi motel township dust sofa coast
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The hosts at this motel were very accommodating (excuse the pun!) after we'd had car difficulties. They also allowed us to leave our trailer behind to pick up later in the day. The room was nice and comfortable. Good size. It was also nice to have a large bath with shower over. Too many motels just offer a shower. The unit was also very quiet. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our family's trip around South Island. We had been let down by our original place and after driving around we spotted this motel with vacancies and what a find and so reasonably priced
Lovely big rooms where all six of us were more than adequately accommodated, big beds which were so comfortable, nice lounge and kitchen and fabulous bathroom
The local area is great for visiting
Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank corkytheoldsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely updated hotel, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and real coffee! Hosts were awesome. Was quiet at night. Highly recommend if you are looking for a place to stay in Hokitika. Good place for families.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurlz1, Owner at Heritage Highway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thankyou for your positive comments, our rooms are spacious for motel units and we are getting positive comments on the refurbishment of the units.
Our larger units are very good for families

Regards
Allen & Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We booked this as everywhere else was full for the days we wanted. We had read some reviews and were concerned regarding the noise people had referred to. Our room was in the middle of the property and both nights the motel was full. On one night several families travelling together with teens were on either side so we expected noise. The two nights were so quiet- no train, no highway, no people noise! The room - queen studio was very spacious and the mini kitchen was well equipped for cooking a meal with 2 hot plates and a microwave - enough for 4 people to eat a meal. Check in was efficient and the room clean. The only negative was the wifi didn't seem to work as it wouldn't connect due to server error. We didn't need it so didn't follow up on this. The tv reception was a little snowy but you don't travel to watch tv! We really couldn't fault the stay for our requirements.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahbC3444RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurlz1, Owner at Heritage Highway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thankyou for your positive comments.
Our units have very good sounproofing and we appreciate your comments about the units being quiet. There is rarely any highway noise as it is mainly a tourist highway.

Our apologies about the wifi not working however this outage was not something we have any control over.

We are looking at a TV upgrade as some units are a bit snowy. Next time you styay the reception should be great

Regards
Allen & Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Arrived in Hokitika without any booking and drove pass this motel. The nice gentleman showed us the 1 room unit and we took it immediately. The place was clean with a queen size bed in the lounge, nice kitchenette, small dining table, 40" TV and a 2 seater and single seater sofa, In the room there were 2 single beds. Our car was parked right in front of the unit. Location is quite near to the township but we didnt hear the train passing as mentioned in the other reviews. Probably we were too tired to hear it.

The bathroom is so much bigger compared to the other motels we have stayed in through our journey in NZ. Laundry and use of dryer is NZD2.5 each and the kind gentleman allowed us to wash even though it was after the closing time.

Use of wifi is charged at NZD5 per day which is a minus point.

Room Tip: This is just a single level motel.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 01ginger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurlz1, Owner at Heritage Highway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thankyou for your nice review. Our guests like our spacious bathrooms and that we are the closest motel to town,
Our units are all very spacious and well appointed.
We are pleased that you stopped in Hokitika. Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews