We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
LydiaYus
Singapore, Singapore

Comfortable and convenient..

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2024
Stayed at the Triple Beachfront Room in June 2023. Room was ok but not much of sea view as the front was quite blocked.
The win for this motel are the staffs. Friendly and accommodating, always smiley and approachable.
Late night, we can just cross over the street to see Glow Worms. Magical sight you must see/do when you're here.
Hokitika town is a short drive away. Location is good.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
2 bedroom main bedroom
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.4 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $72
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $349
  • Booking.com
11.1 km from Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
372
324
103
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
372
324
103
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin across the road glow worm dell beach front beachfront cabin one night the kitchen goat glowworm dell heat pump powered site minute walk easy access tasman sea comfortable bed in town stayed longer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Overall we had a good stay in one of the rooms close to the beach. You could see and hear the waves crashing onto the beach from our apartment. The patio area is quite open at the back and very close to your neighbours but that didn't bother us.
The dining chairs need cleaning or replacing as very dirty. We could hear a child/children running around the apartment next door for our entire stay. We were also charged twice for our stay which fortunately I noticed and reception did quickly resolve for us.
The negatives didn't really affect our stay just something to be aware of. If in the area I would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity40838920486
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

The cabins are cute, but positioned so that you need to like the folks next door. If you go out on your patio deck to eat, drink, watch the sunset, and they do too, you'll all end up as one big group.
We were greeted with a stopped up toilet and no plunger. The manager finally found one, but it wasn't immediately clear where it might be.
The cabins don't really have views of the beach. You can take a short walk to the sand. We had views of horses which was kind of cool.
Also, staying in such a rural environment meant lots of bugs, and next day, lots of scratching. Not something they can control, but something to be aware of.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank redcayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024

We had a great one night stay in November. We stayed in one of the cabins that is split into two. It was quiet and cozy. Had a great sleep here. Enjoyed the easy walk through the property to the beach. And walking across the street to the glow worm dell at night. Easy drive into the main town area, shops, and food. You could also walk along the beach if up for a longer walk. Check-in was easy and welcoming. Would stay here again!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AJ503415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

I used to love this camping ground but now I’m just sad and confused. What has happened? Everything was worn out or out of order. No laundry possibilities, only one bbq had a gas bottle but it was filthy and other bbqs were mussing parts. Shower and toilet fasilities are unbelievably poor, only one shower for women and one for men. But the location right on the beach is marvellous! I sure wish the owners would pay a little more attention and affection to this camping ground.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KonstaMasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2023

Whilst this isn’t an expensive campground , it was frustrating. The laundry was closed , yet 2 staff laundry areas were on site but not available. Maybe allow access temporarily for campers? There’s 1 shower per male and female toilet blocks ( 2 total) and then 1 disabled , so 3 total for campsite. It’s not a huge place but with folks from chalets, powered sites and a few non powered sites they got overused and dirty quickly . The toilets ran out of paper, the kitchen was absolutely heaving at dinner and the next morning the toilets were literally filthy.

It’s easy to walk to the glow worms , which was great. There’s a beach path to a grey sand beach but be aware there are trains going by during the night.

Otherwise, a convenient stop point.

Room tip: Don’t plan on showering if busy
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews