We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
311
288
82
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
288
82
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin across the road glow worm dell beach front farm animals powered site one night short walk to the beach the kitchen glowworm dell beachfront accommodation camper van south island watching the sunset cooking facilities great spot tasman sea
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had booked only one night at Shining Star and was that ever a mistake! After one night we realized we should have planned for a much longer stay. Our room was right on the beach front. After sunset we walked across the road to see the magic of the glow worms. Later we were lulled peacefully to sleep with the sound of ocean waves crashing on the shore. The daylight hours could have you reading in the sun on the veranda or walking amongst the driftwood and pebbles on the beach. Our room was large with high ceilings, plenty of light, a very comfortable bed, and a quiet location. We also loved the local custom of offering a carton of milk as you check in...a delightful welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ODell855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Well you will just have to come back and enjoy all that we have to offer!
We would love to have you here again.
Thank you for your kind words about our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The location was excellent, right across from the Glow Worm Dell, which we visited both nights we were there. If you want to be right in town, that's a different story, but we loved the location, more at the outside of town. We walked and walked the endless beach in front of the chalets, encountering mostly footprints, very few people. The room had excellent lighting, both overhead and for reading in bed; and over the desk. Plenty of free WIFI. Comfortable bed and couch, big table for trip planning and writing postcards. A lovely deck with table and chairs for enjoying the sea air, although one evening it rained, and the other evening the low sun was too intense. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to place a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Deightful campsite. Friendly greeting and lovely secluded pitches for vans with electricity points. Shady and plenty of room. Good facilities and 1 minute walk to the beach which was lovely to walk along into Hokitika. Glow worm dell (free entry) is right opposite the entrance to the park across the road.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dorsetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your two nights in our holiday park.
We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

To be honest was Hokitika was just a place that we found ourselves at the end of Arthur's Pass. How unjust is that. Shining Star was a hightlight for us. We had a delightful log cabin that overlooked a pasture for a couple of horses and then the coast.

It was well-equipped and a pleasure to stay there and our only disappointment was that we did not stay longer.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank elmandarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Isn't it nice to get a wee surprise every now and then!
Hopefully you can return one day to relax for a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I have stayed here on buisness and pleasure many times now and I rate this as one of the top places to stay,with the beach almost at your door ( well through a track) the rooms are large,well appointed and spotless,the check in staff very freindly and helpful.
With the sound of the sea and the comfortable beds a good sleep is Not hard to have here.
I've walked along the beach to the town for dinner takes about 20 or so minutes 1/2 hr if your a slow walker.

Room Tip: If you can choose beachfront
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for your review.
We love to hear our guests enjoy their stay and what Hokitika has to offer.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews