We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
207
234
121
62
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
234
121
62
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view new wing top floor underfloor heating tasman sea the penthouse hotel restaurant third floor heated towel rail oceanview room in town sound of the waves spa bath king bed walk along the beach fantastic location across the road
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We hadn't booked but were well received as a drop-in. Our room was on the top floor and it felt like we were on a cruise ship - the beach was within spitting distance and we heard the crashing of the waves all night long. A glass of wine on the verandah as the sun set was magic. It's not often a hotel is a highlight on our trips - but the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika was.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RjNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Stayed here while on work. A little frustrated on entry as experienced issues with key cards twice but got sorted nice a quick by the team and management.

Room was comfortable however, the heater made weird noises on and off and couldn't sleep with it on. Bathroom was modern but very small, shower had little room to navigate in (in the Driftwood wing).

There is a heap of construction going on, not too bad with noise outside of construction hours. I hope the existing rooms are also still to be finished as there were some details that need to be addressed i.e. paint/wood lifting around the window frames and windows did not close properly.

I was offered an upgrade to a beachfront room but the additional cost. I do thank that staff for the service - very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want view of the West Coast beach, make sure you book Beachfront room. Check with hotel when construction is to finish.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the old building had amazing views of the water right out the window watching the setting sun each night.
When we checked in they claimed the new section was fully booked which is wasn’t as no lights on in any of the rooms. Currently having a major renovation fair bit of noise and early morning chatter outside the window. This is the only reason I gave it an average review ask when you book to be away from Reno.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Travelling around nz found this gem of a hotel. The waves crashing out front and as you walk out your back door the view if the snow capped mountains was spectacular The restaurant attached served great food and excellent service

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Room is clean, new and cozy. Hotel was having construction but it was alright, not much disruption. The shower is great however the space is small. No air conditioner in the room but comes with standing fan. Heater is available so no issue for winter stay.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank christy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews