We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$193
Priceline
Hotels.com
$190
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
167
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand enjoy your stay great shower pressure fantastic room few minutes walk place to stay great recommendations close to town centre friendly owners large tv everything you could possibly need stayed nights great accommodation local area fantastic hosts perfect location longer stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Totally recommend the Stopsforth Hotel!
The pristine units could not be cleaner, so well appointed or more comfortable!
We are thrilled to be here in this fabulous town at this incredible “motel”!!
Originally had the night booked in Greymouth since we take The Alpine Express tomorrow at 200pm.
We were told Hokitika is “the place to be” and they were SO right!
After a bit of a delay with the taxi - we met with John who checked us in.
He is a pure delight, showing us on the map where to go and what to do!
What a fantastic welcome we received in a place that’s so convenient to town.
We feel so comfortable here with a fabulous hot tub!!
As well you get a fridge, microwave , utensils etc.
to help you feel more at home!!
Being mid trip we are so grateful for all these conveniences!
Thank you again John and everyone else
who made this hotel so perfect!!
Our trip to New Zealand has been stellar!!

Room tip: Convenient in every way
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Barker, Owner at Stopforths Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

thanks for the review. Glad John our son did so well. Will pass on the feedback to him. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed at a handful of motels on our trip to NZ and this was the pick of the bunch. Nice sized room with a good large bed and nice pillows (slept well). The shower had good water pressure and the bathroom, as well as the room, was very clean.

Room had a stove top and related things if you wanted to cook (we did not). Thought the milo was a nice touch and enjoyed that in the morning. Owner is a nice fellow who was helpful with things to do in and around Hokitika.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edwardlM2579OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Barker, Owner at Stopforths Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Thanks for the review. We believe in quality and try hard to maintain the highest standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

We were very happy with our room at Stopforths. We were warmly welcomed and once again thanked for booking direct with them.

The room was spacious, very clean and newly refurbished. The kitchenette was even fitted with a dishwasher. A much more hygienic option in my opinion.

The bathroom was well appointed with a decent sized shower and lovely bathroom products.

The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet and dark. We had a great sleep.

We were an easy walk into town fir dinner. We found a great bar to sit and watch the sunset over a couple of drinks.

Our room was on the ground floor with parking directly outside. There was a plenty of space for our luggage inside the room too.

This is a great option in Hokitika and we highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonnaC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Barker, Owner at Stopforths Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

thanks for the review. We designed those rooms ourselves a new take on what a good Motel should be :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2023

A nice hotel, just a few yards from the town centre and beach. What a great find! A very warm welcome on a very wet day! We were shown our room which compared to many was plenty large enough for the two of us. Spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. We had a good nights sleep in a silent room. We were travelling down the West coast and only had time for one night in Hokitika, but I think we chose one of the best places to stay. Thank you all at Stopforths.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulWhitehead-Blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Barker, Owner at Stopforths Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thanks for the review. We believe in quality accommodation designed the place ourselves. This matters to some people in this industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

Fantastic hosts !! Very friendly and so accommodating !! Thoroughly recommend. Room clean / comfortable and very well appointed . Everything we needed and more . Close to town centre for dining out and the beach. Breakfast set us up for the day of bike riding.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil Barker, Owner at Stopforths Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2023

Thanks for the review quality matters to us and we enjoy hosting weary cyclists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews