We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Loomed
Christchurch, New Zealand

Beautiful oasis :-)

Review of Kapitea lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2021via mobile
We stayed one night on our trip up the West Coast. The lodge and gardens are beautiful and extremely well kept. My partner took lots of photos... 😁 The owners Doreen and Geoff were welcoming and friendly hosts.

We stayed in the Tasman room upstairs with a balcony looking over the garden and out to sea. The room itself was spacious and the bed comfy.

Finally the included breakfast was lovely setting us up for our day well.

Highly recommended!
Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Our Beachfront Chalets
Booking.com
$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $144
14.5 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Priceline
    $143
15.0 km from Kapitea lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $98
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $98
15.1 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $157
15.8 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$146
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $105
  • Priceline
    $146
15.9 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Priceline
    $143
15.8 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • StayForLong
14.6 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$87
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • eDreams
    $87
11.9 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$82
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $83
  • Vio.com
    $83
  • ZenHotels.com
16.1 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $257
  • Hotels.com
    $279
16.1 km from Kapitea lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Stopped for lunch here as part of our fantastic Backroads hiking tour. I would use the word beautiful repeatedly - for the views of the Tazman sea, for the gardens on the property, and the setting for our lunch. The food was delicious - lots of great vegetarian items - loved the beet salads best.
The owners/staff were very warm and welcoming, I had a peak at a room - immaculate and nicely decorated.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RandiFayeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We spent two nights at Kapitea Lodge in December 2019. The Inn is a really lovely place. We really enjoyed the view of the ocean and the garden. Our room was very cozy and also had a great view. Doreen and Geoff we were great hosts. They gave us really good advice on restaurants and places to visit in the area. We really enjoyed our time there and will definitely come back.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 905bastianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doreen M, Owner at Kapitea lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Thank you
We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to meeting you again.
Geoff and Doreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We had stopped here for lunch which was excellent on our planned route to Franz Joseph. However a cyclone changed our plans as later in the day the bridge we would have to cross to the glacier was washed out. Fortunately our tour guides knew of Kapitea Lodge from previous travels and how lucky we were that they were able to accommodate us with 4 rooms. We had no where to go due to the weather and road conditions- we felt like we had been taken in. The rooms were clean, neat, well kept and quite comfortable as storms raged throughout the night. In the early evening, they served us an amazing appetizer spread. Morning breakfast consisted of coffee, juices, cereals and choice of eggs. There is in room coffee and tea. The grounds and garden areas are lovely. It is a lovely place to catch your breath and be cared for by gracious hosts. We can’t thank you enough for your help and hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travelbetterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Upon our arrival we were greeted by our hosts Doreen and Geoff, then given a tour of their establishment and shown to our room. Our room had a fantastic view of the gardens and ocean and all the amenities you would ever need. Our room was scrupulously clean and pre warmed prior to our arrival, a nice touch on a cool day in mid winter. The bed would be one of the best I have ever slept in.
This accommodation is inclusive of breakfast and what a breakfast it was. Substantial portions of fresh fruit, including what I would have considered as 'out of season' fruit, yoghurt, selections of breads for toast, jams and spreads. The presentation was exquisite, as was everything about the lodge. This truely reflects our hosts as we were made to feel most welcome and given lots of suggestions as to what to do and see of the surrounding area during our short stay.
My suggestion would be to stay at least 2 nights in order to do justice to Hokitika and the West Coast.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This place is a hidden gem. We stopped for lunch at Kapitea Lodge on our way down the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand. The food was spectacular and the views from the outdoor patio were gorgeous. Plus the team at the lodge was very welcoming...and the home baked breads were fresh from the oven and dreamy! Be sure to spend a few minutes exploring the gorgeous gardens.

The lodge does accommodate overnight guests and seems like a perfect place to enjoy some time on the journey up or down the Island.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Junebughiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews