We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

On the recommendation of a friend who has travelled often to NZ, we broke up our travels down the west coast of the South Island with one night at Breakers. It was far too short a stay! As we pulled in we were met by our host Jan, who was warm and accomodating. Since we would be making an early start the next day, she prepared a cold breakfast for us the evening before and gave us directions for how to get down to the stone-filled beach and tidepools below. Our room was large and decorated with a wonderful mix of contempary natural/ furnishings. The view was spectacular over the crashing surf - breakers indeed! We enjoyed a dinner of bread, cheese, fruit and wine on the room's deck while being treated to a postcard sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIShikerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed in the Breakthrough Room, which was the B&B's smallest room, but still quite adequate. The views of the Tasman Sea from the sliding glass door onto the deck were stupendous, and the sounds of the waves breaking onto the beach could easily lull you to sleep. Enjoying a glass of wine while watching the sun set was one of the highlights of our trip. Jan cooked a wonderful breakfast (scrambled eggs with salmon one morning and a large pancake the next), and her written guidelines for sightseeing in the area were the best. There were also homemade muffins in the room when we returned each day. She is very environmentally conscious, and don't be surprised when she asks you to remove your shoes when in the house.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLWTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This place is a fantastic spot on the far side of the world. Although we could only spent one night, which was surrounded by a typical Westcoast windy and rainy storm, we had a fantastic time at this wonderful place. The view from the room out to the Tasman Sea is amazing and in only a couple of minutes we reached the beach which seems only accessable for guests of this place. The host Jan was very welcoming, with lots of good travel ideas and suggestions and the dogs Ziggy and Nico are just wonderful creatures who are lucky to live at this place. Also he breakfast was superb and also a plu that there is internet connection. Definetly the time at the Breakers was a highlight of the NZ trip and I would recommend this place for anybody who wants time of piece and tranquility. Thank you very much, Jan!
Andres and Gemma

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juno99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

My wife and I just completed a two week visit to the South Island. The friendly hospitality and setting on the Tasman Sea at Breaker's is perfect. They had great ideas for our time there, which included their written directions. The hosts are truly interested in you enjoying yourselves whether relaxing or touring the area. We ate both dinners there (excellent cook) as we couldn't imagine a more pleasant setting...waves pounding on the surf as the sun is going down...! I predict it will be one of your favorite places. Erik & Kathy Skon, Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikStillwater_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Magnificent scenery, Quiet piece of rugged west coast of New Zealand

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muzza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews