We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$138
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
370
46
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
46
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seab bprivate beachnew zealandhomemade pizzaeggs benedictsouth islandone nightnine milefantastic settingslice of paradiserock poolsfellow guestsonward journeywatching the sunsetbeachfront locationstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

My husband and I spent the first 2 weeks of April touring South Island with do-it-yourself planning. A friend had told us we must spend time on the West Coast and then recommended the Breakers. The reviews were excellent, but we couldn't have imagined how spectacular our stay would be! Jan is a wonderful host and greeted us like old friends! In fact before we had even left home, she emailed a personal welcome and inquired where we'd be driving from. She then replied again with a detailed itinerary for our day's drive to the Breakers. We used her guide along the way and knew how much time to budget with options for a long trek, a short walk or photos. She also assured us that once we arrived, she'd provide activities to fill our second day on the Great Coast. Our room was beautifully appointed and the views and grounds were breath taking. We enjoyed relaxing on our balcony with a glass of wine to watch exquisite sunsets, too! Our second day in the area was fabulous; we hiked in several local spots and dined based on Jan's suggestions and it felt like a perfect, relaxing mini-vacation from our vacation! On our day of departure, she presented us with one more itinerary! Wow! We planned to drive through Arthur's Pass to CHC to meet our daughter, a visiting college student. Once again Jan went above and beyond, providing a couple less obvious, local stops for photos and a short walk before we hiked the guide book favorites at Devil's Punchbowl and Castle Hill. Thanks, Jan, The Sheffield Pie Co is a must!! Staying at the Breakers was one of the highlights of our trip! Yes, the accommodation and views are five star, but it's Jan's warmth, hospitality and local knowledge that make the Breakers "out of this world!!!"

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisbou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Chris and Mark thanks so much for your amazing review. It was lovely getting your first email and hearing you found us through a recommendation - all the way on the other side of the world. Always a pleasure meeting our guests and hearing the enthusiasm for the recommended stops on route and then following your forward adventures and knowing that my suggested sightseeing stops were useful and helped ensure you made the most of your time in NZ. Glad you found time for the Sheffield Pie shop! Best of all though is reading we were one of the highlights of your time in NZ - feeling very privileged indeed so thank you for staying with us! Until next time..... Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

During Christmas of 2015, Breakers was one of my last stops on a photography trip through New Zealand. This time, on a trip with my husband, this was one of the places I was most eager to return to. It was even more memorable on this visit, and we ended up staying four nights.

We stayed in the Breakwater room--a comfortable, clean, immaculately-decorated, and cozy space where it just seems natural to grab a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset from the deck. We both slept really well. There are sea views from every bit of the room, and the sound of the pounding ocean is always blissfully present.

Breakfast every morning is yummy and cooked to order, and the coffee is delicious.

Best of all, Jan makes sure you are welcome and gives out the best lists of things to do in the area. No matter what direction you're headed in, or if you're staying overnight and want to explore the bit of paradise directly around the B&B, she has ideas that range from glorious landscapes, interesting bits of history, and local haunts. Due to the recommendations and guidance from Jan and her husband, Steve, we were able to see incredible things we never would have otherwise experienced.

If you're looking for a place to relax, be surrounded by some of the best the West Coast of New Zealand has to offer, and be hosted by kind, knowledgable people who are excellent at every bit of what they do, look no further. This is home.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aralani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Wow Ara, thanks so much for this incredibly outstanding review. Have to say though it is people like you and Nathan that come and really soak up all that Breakers and our location has to offer that make our season and the reason we do this and love it. To have our guests become our friends is nothing more rewarding. Look forward to your next visit and sharing many more adventures and discoveries with you both. Until next time...... Jan and Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Towards the end of our New Zealand honeymoon, when we thought we had seen the best of the best places, we were welcomed to this paradise of a place, "Breakers Boutique"
Everything from the warm welcome to the splendid view from the room, and the artistically decorated room itself were an absolute delight! Watching breathtaking sunsets from the room just add to the experience!
We loved the place so much that we did not even go out for dinner!
Jan is fantastic host, taking every effort possible to make the stay more memorable!
Would love to return back just to be here!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tanisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Tanisha thanks so much for your lovely review. Wonderful to read we exceeded expectations when you and Karen had already seen and done some great experiences on your NZ honeymoon. We love nothing more than our guests staying in for the evening and making the most of our location - views, beach walk and sunset so really glad you took advantage of that. Wishing you both all the very best for your new life together and hope one day you do make it back to visit again - perhaps a wedding anniversary some time in the future. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some accommodation in Greymouth, don't loose your time to search, simply go to "the breakers". We loved our 2 nights in this place: the welcome from Jan, the beautiful room with a breathtaking view of the sea, the breakfast, the antipasti plate and the recommended local pub with a very nice fish and chips! The setup of the place is really amazing and the short walk to the beach is an experience in itself. And Jan is very professional and very kind and helpful for anything you need. So do not hesitate, go there!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Paul and Chris thanks so much for your lovely review. So glad you stayed an additional night to give yourselves more time to enjoy our location and explore our region. So much to see and do and nice you had time to slow down. Very happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast and antipasti platter too. The platter is a great option to make the most of our beachfront views and location, especially while the sun goes down. Wishing you both all the best. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our 5-week trip around the South Island. First of all, this is an excellent central location for exploring up and down this part of the west coast of NZ from Punakaiki down to Hokitika and Ross. The scenery up and down the coast road is spectacular.

It's a bit of a problem because the Breakers itself is such a beautiful and comfortable place, it is hard to leave! We stayed in the main house in the spotless and well-appointed room with "the loo with a view." The view from our room included a beautiful ocean view, amazing sunsets and at night, a multitude of stars that looked close enough to touch. We had huge picture windows with a sitting area as well as our own deck from which to enjoy all this. There is a short walk from the house down to the beach where we could walk down to the rock formations in both directions.

Secondly, our hosts Jan and Stephen made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to provide information on the area and share some of their favorite spots. Imagine waking up to Jan's fabulous breakfast and then planning your day while sharing suggestions with your fellow guests and hosts. Whatever we needed -- recommendations for places to eat or directions -- they were always ready to help. Stephen is a gifted photographer and we sat one evening with a bottle of wine and he shared some of his expertise and ideas about photographing New Zealand with us.

This was our fourth trip to NZ in the last 8 years and I can definitely say that our stay here was one of the high points of all of our trips. It is places and people like this that keep us coming back. I highly recommend staying at the Breakers if you are in this beautiful part of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Wow Barbara and Sam what a glowing review. I hardly know what to say other than a huge thank you for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and spend some time with you. Stephen thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you and sharing some of his photography tips and advice. Feeling very privileged to be included as one of the highlights of your four trips to NZ. Look forward to your return visit in a couple of years time and catching up on your adventures and sharing some more must do tips for NZ over a glass or two of wine as the sun goes down. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews