We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find, what a location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a find, what a location!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Our first inkling of how wonderful our stay would be here was the great interaction with our hosts before we arrived. Breakers is to the north of Greymouth in a magical spot right on the edge of the beach. The accomodation is wonderrul - you feel like you are in your own beach house with a veranda overlooking the beach and the sea. We stayed for two nights and, even though went sight seeing during the day, spent both evenings sitting on our veranda enjoying pizza and meat platters provided by our hostess. It was a magical setting, with the sun going down, a glass of wine in our hand and total relaxation. If you want to visit somewhere where you can have the ultimate chill out little could outdo this gem on the west coast. We ended the day with romantic walks along the beach - pure bliss!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellatravelscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 May 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us in March. It was lovely meeting you both and I to enjoyed all our interaction pre arrival - and of course our conversations while you were here. It was so nice to see you making the most of our beachfront location - sitting out with your glass of wine, the walks on the beach and taking advantage of our pizza/platter options so you could just relax after your day of exploring and watch the sun go down. Hope you are able to make a return visit to NZ in the future and I look forward to seeing you both again. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
298
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2017

My husband and I spent the first 2 weeks of April touring South Island with do-it-yourself planning. A friend had told us we must spend time on the West Coast and then recommended the Breakers. The reviews were excellent, but we couldn't have imagined how spectacular our stay would be! Jan is a wonderful host and greeted us like old friends! In fact before we had even left home, she emailed a personal welcome and inquired where we'd be driving from. She then replied again with a detailed itinerary for our day's drive to the Breakers. We used her guide along the way and knew how much time to budget with options for a long trek, a short walk or photos. She also assured us that once we arrived, she'd provide activities to fill our second day on the Great Coast. Our room was beautifully appointed and the views and grounds were breath taking. We enjoyed relaxing on our balcony with a glass of wine to watch exquisite sunsets, too! Our second day in the area was fabulous; we hiked in several local spots and dined based on Jan's suggestions and it felt like a perfect, relaxing mini-vacation from our vacation! On our day of departure, she presented us with one more itinerary! Wow! We planned to drive through Arthur's Pass to CHC to meet our daughter, a visiting college student. Once again Jan went above and beyond, providing a couple less obvious, local stops for photos and a short walk before we hiked the guide book favorites at Devil's Punchbowl and Castle Hill. Thanks, Jan, The Sheffield Pie Co is a must!! Staying at the Breakers was one of the highlights of our trip! Yes, the accommodation and views are five star, but it's Jan's warmth, hospitality and local knowledge that make the Breakers "out of this world!!!"

  • Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisbou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 3 May 2017
Chris and Mark thanks so much for your amazing review. It was lovely getting your first email and hearing you found us through a recommendation - all the way on the other side of the world. Always a pleasure meeting our guests and hearing the enthusiasm for the recommended stops on route and then following your forward adventures and knowing that my suggested sightseeing stops were useful and helped ensure you made the most of your time in NZ. Glad you found time for the Sheffield Pie shop! Best of all though is reading we were one of the highlights of your time in NZ - feeling very privileged indeed so thank you for staying with us! Until next time..... Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2017

During Christmas of 2015, Breakers was one of my last stops on a photography trip through New Zealand. This time, on a trip with my husband, this was one of the places I was most eager to return to. It was even more memorable on this visit, and we ended up staying four nights.

We stayed in the Breakwater room--a comfortable, clean, immaculately-decorated, and cozy space where it just seems natural to grab a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset from the deck. We both slept really well. There are sea views from every bit of the room, and the sound of the pounding ocean is always blissfully present.

Breakfast every morning is yummy and cooked to order, and the coffee is delicious.

Best of all, Jan makes sure you are welcome and gives out the best lists of things to do in the area. No matter what direction you're headed in, or if you're staying overnight and want to explore the bit of paradise directly around the B&B, she has ideas that range from glorious landscapes, interesting bits of history, and local haunts. Due to the recommendations and guidance from Jan and her husband, Steve, we were able to see incredible things we never would have otherwise experienced.

If you're looking for a place to relax, be surrounded by some of the best the West Coast of New Zealand has to offer, and be hosted by kind, knowledgable people who are excellent at every bit of what they do, look no further. This is home.

  • Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aralani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 28 April 2017
Wow Ara, thanks so much for this incredibly outstanding review. Have to say though it is people like you and Nathan that come and really soak up all that Breakers and our location has to offer that make our season and the reason we do this and love it. To have our guests become our friends is nothing more rewarding. Look forward to your next visit and sharing many more adventures and discoveries with you both. Until next time...... Jan and Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Towards the end of our New Zealand honeymoon, when we thought we had seen the best of the best places, we were welcomed to this paradise of a place, "Breakers Boutique"
Everything from the warm welcome to the splendid view from the room, and the artistically decorated room itself were an absolute delight! Watching breathtaking sunsets from the room just add to the experience!
We loved the place so much that we did not even go out for dinner!
Jan is fantastic host, taking every effort possible to make the stay more memorable!
Would love to return back just to be here!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanisha0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Tanisha thanks so much for your lovely review. Wonderful to read we exceeded expectations when you and Karen had already seen and done some great experiences on your NZ honeymoon. We love nothing more than our guests staying in for the evening and making the most of our location - views, beach walk and sunset so really glad you took advantage of that. Wishing you both all the very best for your new life together and hope one day you do make it back to visit again - perhaps a wedding anniversary some time in the future. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some accommodation in Greymouth, don't loose your time to search, simply go to "the breakers". We loved our 2 nights in this place: the welcome from Jan, the beautiful room with a breathtaking view of the sea, the breakfast, the antipasti plate and the recommended local pub with a very nice fish and chips! The setup of the place is really amazing and the short walk to the beach is an experience in itself. And Jan is very professional and very kind and helpful for anything you need. So do not hesitate, go there!

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Paul and Chris thanks so much for your lovely review. So glad you stayed an additional night to give yourselves more time to enjoy our location and explore our region. So much to see and do and nice you had time to slow down. Very happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast and antipasti platter too. The platter is a great option to make the most of our beachfront views and location, especially while the sun goes down. Wishing you both all the best. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
13.8 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
187 reviews
11.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
461 reviews
19.6 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
333 reviews
26.3 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
664 reviews
13.5 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Property: Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price range (per night): $215 - $355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing