We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Breeze Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Coleraine(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
370
46
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
46
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seab bprivate beachnew zealandhomemade pizzaeggs benedictsouth islandone nightnine milefantastic settingslice of paradiserock poolsfellow guestsonward journeywatching the sunsetbeachfront locationstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some accommodation in Greymouth, don't loose your time to search, simply go to "the breakers". We loved our 2 nights in this place: the welcome from Jan, the beautiful room with a breathtaking view of the sea, the breakfast, the antipasti plate and the recommended local pub with a very nice fish and chips! The setup of the place is really amazing and the short walk to the beach is an experience in itself. And Jan is very professional and very kind and helpful for anything you need. So do not hesitate, go there!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Paul and Chris thanks so much for your lovely review. So glad you stayed an additional night to give yourselves more time to enjoy our location and explore our region. So much to see and do and nice you had time to slow down. Very happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast and antipasti platter too. The platter is a great option to make the most of our beachfront views and location, especially while the sun goes down. Wishing you both all the best. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our 5-week trip around the South Island. First of all, this is an excellent central location for exploring up and down this part of the west coast of NZ from Punakaiki down to Hokitika and Ross. The scenery up and down the coast road is spectacular.

It's a bit of a problem because the Breakers itself is such a beautiful and comfortable place, it is hard to leave! We stayed in the main house in the spotless and well-appointed room with "the loo with a view." The view from our room included a beautiful ocean view, amazing sunsets and at night, a multitude of stars that looked close enough to touch. We had huge picture windows with a sitting area as well as our own deck from which to enjoy all this. There is a short walk from the house down to the beach where we could walk down to the rock formations in both directions.

Secondly, our hosts Jan and Stephen made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to provide information on the area and share some of their favorite spots. Imagine waking up to Jan's fabulous breakfast and then planning your day while sharing suggestions with your fellow guests and hosts. Whatever we needed -- recommendations for places to eat or directions -- they were always ready to help. Stephen is a gifted photographer and we sat one evening with a bottle of wine and he shared some of his expertise and ideas about photographing New Zealand with us.

This was our fourth trip to NZ in the last 8 years and I can definitely say that our stay here was one of the high points of all of our trips. It is places and people like this that keep us coming back. I highly recommend staying at the Breakers if you are in this beautiful part of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Wow Barbara and Sam what a glowing review. I hardly know what to say other than a huge thank you for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and spend some time with you. Stephen thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you and sharing some of his photography tips and advice. Feeling very privileged to be included as one of the highlights of your four trips to NZ. Look forward to your return visit in a couple of years time and catching up on your adventures and sharing some more must do tips for NZ over a glass or two of wine as the sun goes down. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Stunning view of ocean, especially at sunset while enjoying wine and canapes; well appointed accommodations; delicious and varied gourmet breakfast; but maybe most memorable, the charming hosts, Jan and Steven. As a special treat, they facilitated me getting a surfboard in Greymouth and achieving a lifetime goal of surfing in New Zealand, with the world famous break Nine Mile Beach at our doorstep. To add to this, Steven snapped professional quality pictures which i will keep forever.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite acceptable.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tuberider2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Bo and Harriett thanks so much for your lovely heartfelt review. Much appreciated. It was so lovely to meet you both and Bo we were totally stoked to help facilitate your NZ surfing dream. To see the smile on your face as you came back up off the beach said it all. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime - your place or ours. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Gerry and I stayed at Breakers during our New Zealand month long holiday and can honestly say it was first rate in every respect. From Jan's warmest of welcomes to our reluctant farewell we felt relaxed. Jan could not have been more attentive, even preparing a sheet of suggestions of places to visit as we travelled on to our next destination.

The position is second to none and the accommodation is not only extremely comfortable but also very stylish indeed. It is maintained to an excellent standard.

There are many small touches that speak of great care and attention to detail.

As befits the location at beach side there is considerable environmental awareness in the operation at Breakers.

Our only regret? We were only staying one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks Phil and Gerry for your glowing review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed following your onward adventures through NZ. Your passion and enthusiam for our country was a delight to see - you make great ambassadors yourselves for our country. Glad you appreciated our environmental efforts - every little bit helps. I know you thought this was a once in a lifetime trip but also know you are talking about a return visit already and I really hope that comes true for you and I look forward to seeing you both again. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Large roomy room with excellent shower room. Views over the sea and garden. We had the anti pasta platter in our room with a bottle of wine and it was a lovely way to end a long day of driving and it was plenty for our dinner. Breakfast was great with a good choice of egg plates. Jan was extremely helpful about things to see, places to stop, etc and on top of that she is a lovely person and a fad hostess. Pity we only stayed one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi John So lovely to meet you and Sally and glad you took advantage of our platter and wine option so you could sit back and relax with our great sea views after your day of driving. We love it when our guests say only complaint is not staying longer. Hope you do make it back to New Zealand sometime - will be super lovely to see you both again. Remember never say never. Enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ - until next time.... Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews