We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Towards the end of our New Zealand honeymoon, when we thought we had seen the best of the best places, we were welcomed to this paradise of a place, "Breakers Boutique"
Everything from the warm welcome to the splendid view from the room, and the artistically decorated room itself were an absolute delight! Watching breathtaking sunsets from the room just add to the experience!
We loved the place so much that we did not even go out for dinner!
Jan is fantastic host, taking every effort possible to make the stay more memorable!
Would love to return back just to be here!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanisha0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Tanisha thanks so much for your lovely review. Wonderful to read we exceeded expectations when you and Karen had already seen and done some great experiences on your NZ honeymoon. We love nothing more than our guests staying in for the evening and making the most of our location - views, beach walk and sunset so really glad you took advantage of that. Wishing you both all the very best for your new life together and hope one day you do make it back to visit again - perhaps a wedding anniversary some time in the future. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
296
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some accommodation in Greymouth, don't loose your time to search, simply go to "the breakers". We loved our 2 nights in this place: the welcome from Jan, the beautiful room with a breathtaking view of the sea, the breakfast, the antipasti plate and the recommended local pub with a very nice fish and chips! The setup of the place is really amazing and the short walk to the beach is an experience in itself. And Jan is very professional and very kind and helpful for anything you need. So do not hesitate, go there!

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Paul and Chris thanks so much for your lovely review. So glad you stayed an additional night to give yourselves more time to enjoy our location and explore our region. So much to see and do and nice you had time to slow down. Very happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast and antipasti platter too. The platter is a great option to make the most of our beachfront views and location, especially while the sun goes down. Wishing you both all the best. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal northeast Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our 5-week trip around the South Island. First of all, this is an excellent central location for exploring up and down this part of the west coast of NZ from Punakaiki down to Hokitika and Ross. The scenery up and down the coast road is spectacular.

It's a bit of a problem because the Breakers itself is such a beautiful and comfortable place, it is hard to leave! We stayed in the main house in the spotless and well-appointed room with "the loo with a view." The view from our room included a beautiful ocean view, amazing sunsets and at night, a multitude of stars that looked close enough to touch. We had huge picture windows with a sitting area as well as our own deck from which to enjoy all this. There is a short walk from the house down to the beach where we could walk down to the rock formations in both directions.

Secondly, our hosts Jan and Stephen made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to provide information on the area and share some of their favorite spots. Imagine waking up to Jan's fabulous breakfast and then planning your day while sharing suggestions with your fellow guests and hosts. Whatever we needed -- recommendations for places to eat or directions -- they were always ready to help. Stephen is a gifted photographer and we sat one evening with a bottle of wine and he shared some of his expertise and ideas about photographing New Zealand with us.

This was our fourth trip to NZ in the last 8 years and I can definitely say that our stay here was one of the high points of all of our trips. It is places and people like this that keep us coming back. I highly recommend staying at the Breakers if you are in this beautiful part of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Wow Barbara and Sam what a glowing review. I hardly know what to say other than a huge thank you for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and spend some time with you. Stephen thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you and sharing some of his photography tips and advice. Feeling very privileged to be included as one of the highlights of your four trips to NZ. Look forward to your return visit in a couple of years time and catching up on your adventures and sharing some more must do tips for NZ over a glass or two of wine as the sun goes down. Warmest regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Stunning view of ocean, especially at sunset while enjoying wine and canapes; well appointed accommodations; delicious and varied gourmet breakfast; but maybe most memorable, the charming hosts, Jan and Steven. As a special treat, they facilitated me getting a surfboard in Greymouth and achieving a lifetime goal of surfing in New Zealand, with the world famous break Nine Mile Beach at our doorstep. To add to this, Steven snapped professional quality pictures which i will keep forever.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuberider2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 April 2017
Bo and Harriett thanks so much for your lovely heartfelt review. Much appreciated. It was so lovely to meet you both and Bo we were totally stoked to help facilitate your NZ surfing dream. To see the smile on your face as you came back up off the beach said it all. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime - your place or ours. Warmest regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Gerry and I stayed at Breakers during our New Zealand month long holiday and can honestly say it was first rate in every respect. From Jan's warmest of welcomes to our reluctant farewell we felt relaxed. Jan could not have been more attentive, even preparing a sheet of suggestions of places to visit as we travelled on to our next destination.

The position is second to none and the accommodation is not only extremely comfortable but also very stylish indeed. It is maintained to an excellent standard.

There are many small touches that speak of great care and attention to detail.

As befits the location at beach side there is considerable environmental awareness in the operation at Breakers.

Our only regret? We were only staying one night.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 April 2017
Thanks Phil and Gerry for your glowing review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed following your onward adventures through NZ. Your passion and enthusiam for our country was a delight to see - you make great ambassadors yourselves for our country. Glad you appreciated our environmental efforts - every little bit helps. I know you thought this was a once in a lifetime trip but also know you are talking about a return visit already and I really hope that comes true for you and I look forward to seeing you both again. Warmest regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
19.6 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
13.8 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
26.3 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
13.0 km away
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
13.5 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Property: Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price range (per night): $215 - $355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing