We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
377
48
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasman sea private beach new zealand eggs benedict south island one night fellow guests nine mile sound of the waves fantastic setting rock pools onward journey beachfront location places to visit the main house b and b bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Stunning view of ocean, especially at sunset while enjoying wine and canapes; well appointed accommodations; delicious and varied gourmet breakfast; but maybe most memorable, the charming hosts, Jan and Steven. As a special treat, they facilitated me getting a surfboard in Greymouth and achieving a lifetime goal of surfing in New Zealand, with the world famous break Nine Mile Beach at our doorstep. To add to this, Steven snapped professional quality pictures which i will keep forever.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite acceptable.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tuberider2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Bo and Harriett thanks so much for your lovely heartfelt review. Much appreciated. It was so lovely to meet you both and Bo we were totally stoked to help facilitate your NZ surfing dream. To see the smile on your face as you came back up off the beach said it all. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime - your place or ours. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Gerry and I stayed at Breakers during our New Zealand month long holiday and can honestly say it was first rate in every respect. From Jan's warmest of welcomes to our reluctant farewell we felt relaxed. Jan could not have been more attentive, even preparing a sheet of suggestions of places to visit as we travelled on to our next destination.

The position is second to none and the accommodation is not only extremely comfortable but also very stylish indeed. It is maintained to an excellent standard.

There are many small touches that speak of great care and attention to detail.

As befits the location at beach side there is considerable environmental awareness in the operation at Breakers.

Our only regret? We were only staying one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks Phil and Gerry for your glowing review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed following your onward adventures through NZ. Your passion and enthusiam for our country was a delight to see - you make great ambassadors yourselves for our country. Glad you appreciated our environmental efforts - every little bit helps. I know you thought this was a once in a lifetime trip but also know you are talking about a return visit already and I really hope that comes true for you and I look forward to seeing you both again. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Large roomy room with excellent shower room. Views over the sea and garden. We had the anti pasta platter in our room with a bottle of wine and it was a lovely way to end a long day of driving and it was plenty for our dinner. Breakfast was great with a good choice of egg plates. Jan was extremely helpful about things to see, places to stop, etc and on top of that she is a lovely person and a fad hostess. Pity we only stayed one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi John So lovely to meet you and Sally and glad you took advantage of our platter and wine option so you could sit back and relax with our great sea views after your day of driving. We love it when our guests say only complaint is not staying longer. Hope you do make it back to New Zealand sometime - will be super lovely to see you both again. Remember never say never. Enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ - until next time.... Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The location of the B&B is great, nice private access to the beach. Jan is very attentive, gives a lot of info on what to do. We had the Breakthrough room, which had a great view, but was too small to be really comfortable. Booked nearly a year ago through Travel Essence, haven't got a clue why they booked this too small room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious except the Breakthrough
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdaams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks Micheil and Joan for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our fabulous beachfront location, the views and my attentiveness and sightseeing suggestions. Very disappointed on your remarks regarding the room size and to be marked down unjustly because of it. This is the room that was booked by your agent and which you presumably agreed to. It is exactly as we advertise it.
Given as you say, you booked a year in advance, you had plenty of time to do due diligence on the places you were booked to stay and change accordingly to meet your needs. The room is our smallest room but by no means small. We provide a queen bed, luggage storage, TV, seating and access to the deck with seating and magnificent uninterrupted views of the wonderful Tasman Sea in our Breakthrough room – you can even lie in bed and soak up the sea views and night sky. The beauty of offering this room is it is at a price point for the budget minded and gives those people the opportunity of staying and enjoying our special wee place and warm hospitality when they might otherwise not have the chance to experience it.
There is plenty of outdoor seating as well as our amble sized guest lounge with plenty of seating and affording those same sea views. If you wanted more space you could always have sat outside with the nature or in our guest lounge.
Looking at your other reviews it would seem you have quite a bit of disparity between your various accommodations and the only ones to receive full marks were where you had a large room. All I can stress is that with booking so far in advance you take the time to ensure in future the room meets your standards and requirements before arrival and avoid us all the heartache of an unjust review.
In saying that it was lovely to meet you both and I trust you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Stunning, spacious, comfortable accommodation close to beach with amazing sea view. Everything was of an extremely high standard. Jan was most friendly and helpful in all respects. Breakfast was outstanding. No complaints at all. We didn't want to leave!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks Derek for your glowing review. So pleased you and Lois enjoyed your time with us - your room, the views, our location and of course breakfast. Pleasure to be able to cater to your vegetarian requirements and especially pleased with Lois's comment at breakfast that it was the best breakfast she'd had in NZ - she made my morning. Hope you get the opportunity to come back some time - still plenty to photograph and be happy to point you in the right direction. Enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews