We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding West Coast Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our 5-week trip around the South Island. First of all, this is an excellent central location for exploring up and down this part of the west coast of NZ from Punakaiki down to Hokitika and Ross. The scenery up and down the coast road is spectacular.

It's a bit of a problem because the Breakers itself is such a beautiful and comfortable place, it is hard to leave! We stayed in the main house in the spotless and well-appointed room with "the loo with a view." The view from our room included a beautiful ocean view, amazing sunsets and at night, a multitude of stars that looked close enough to touch. We had huge picture windows with a sitting area as well as our own deck from which to enjoy all this. There is a short walk from the house down to the beach where we could walk down to the rock formations in both directions.

Secondly, our hosts Jan and Stephen made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to provide information on the area and share some of their favorite spots. Imagine waking up to Jan's fabulous breakfast and then planning your day while sharing suggestions with your fellow guests and hosts. Whatever we needed -- recommendations for places to eat or directions -- they were always ready to help. Stephen is a gifted photographer and we sat one evening with a bottle of wine and he shared some of his expertise and ideas about photographing New Zealand with us.

This was our fourth trip to NZ in the last 8 years and I can definitely say that our stay here was one of the high points of all of our trips. It is places and people like this that keep us coming back. I highly recommend staying at the Breakers if you are in this beautiful part of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Wow Barbara and Sam what a glowing review. I hardly know what to say other than a huge thank you for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and spend some time with you. Stephen thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you and sharing some of his photography tips and advice. Feeling very privileged to be included as one of the highlights of your four trips to NZ. Look forward to your return visit in a couple of years time and catching up on your adventures and sharing some more must do tips for NZ over a glass or two of wine as the sun goes down. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Breakers Boutique Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Stunning view of ocean, especially at sunset while enjoying wine and canapes; well appointed accommodations; delicious and varied gourmet breakfast; but maybe most memorable, the charming hosts, Jan and Steven. As a special treat, they facilitated me getting a surfboard in Greymouth and achieving a lifetime goal of surfing in New Zealand, with the world famous break Nine Mile Beach at our doorstep. To add to this, Steven snapped professional quality pictures which i will keep forever.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite acceptable.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tuberider2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Bo and Harriett thanks so much for your lovely heartfelt review. Much appreciated. It was so lovely to meet you both and Bo we were totally stoked to help facilitate your NZ surfing dream. To see the smile on your face as you came back up off the beach said it all. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime - your place or ours. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Gerry and I stayed at Breakers during our New Zealand month long holiday and can honestly say it was first rate in every respect. From Jan's warmest of welcomes to our reluctant farewell we felt relaxed. Jan could not have been more attentive, even preparing a sheet of suggestions of places to visit as we travelled on to our next destination.

The position is second to none and the accommodation is not only extremely comfortable but also very stylish indeed. It is maintained to an excellent standard.

There are many small touches that speak of great care and attention to detail.

As befits the location at beach side there is considerable environmental awareness in the operation at Breakers.

Our only regret? We were only staying one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks Phil and Gerry for your glowing review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed following your onward adventures through NZ. Your passion and enthusiam for our country was a delight to see - you make great ambassadors yourselves for our country. Glad you appreciated our environmental efforts - every little bit helps. I know you thought this was a once in a lifetime trip but also know you are talking about a return visit already and I really hope that comes true for you and I look forward to seeing you both again. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Large roomy room with excellent shower room. Views over the sea and garden. We had the anti pasta platter in our room with a bottle of wine and it was a lovely way to end a long day of driving and it was plenty for our dinner. Breakfast was great with a good choice of egg plates. Jan was extremely helpful about things to see, places to stop, etc and on top of that she is a lovely person and a fad hostess. Pity we only stayed one night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi John So lovely to meet you and Sally and glad you took advantage of our platter and wine option so you could sit back and relax with our great sea views after your day of driving. We love it when our guests say only complaint is not staying longer. Hope you do make it back to New Zealand sometime - will be super lovely to see you both again. Remember never say never. Enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ - until next time.... Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The location of the B&B is great, nice private access to the beach. Jan is very attentive, gives a lot of info on what to do. We had the Breakthrough room, which had a great view, but was too small to be really comfortable. Booked nearly a year ago through Travel Essence, haven't got a clue why they booked this too small room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious except the Breakthrough
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdaams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks Micheil and Joan for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our fabulous beachfront location, the views and my attentiveness and sightseeing suggestions. Very disappointed on your remarks regarding the room size and to be marked down unjustly because of it. This is the room that was booked by your agent and which you presumably agreed to. It is exactly as we advertise it.
Given as you say, you booked a year in advance, you had plenty of time to do due diligence on the places you were booked to stay and change accordingly to meet your needs. The room is our smallest room but by no means small. We provide a queen bed, luggage storage, TV, seating and access to the deck with seating and magnificent uninterrupted views of the wonderful Tasman Sea in our Breakthrough room – you can even lie in bed and soak up the sea views and night sky. The beauty of offering this room is it is at a price point for the budget minded and gives those people the opportunity of staying and enjoying our special wee place and warm hospitality when they might otherwise not have the chance to experience it.
There is plenty of outdoor seating as well as our amble sized guest lounge with plenty of seating and affording those same sea views. If you wanted more space you could always have sat outside with the nature or in our guest lounge.
Looking at your other reviews it would seem you have quite a bit of disparity between your various accommodations and the only ones to receive full marks were where you had a large room. All I can stress is that with booking so far in advance you take the time to ensure in future the room meets your standards and requirements before arrival and avoid us all the heartache of an unjust review.
In saying that it was lovely to meet you both and I trust you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
13.8 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
11.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
472 reviews
19.6 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
245 reviews
13.3 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
26.3 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Greymouth

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range: $215 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing