We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
371
47
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
47
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandhomemade pizzaeggs benedictsouth islandone nightnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingslice of paradiserock poolsfellow guestsonward journeystayed longerwatching the sunsetbeachfront location
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I was in one of the two rooms in what one might call the annexe. Parking was immediately outside and each of these rooms has its own balcony looking westward out to sea. The outlook means that on a bright sunny day, the room is really warm before the sun goes down but it cools quite rapidly. Breakfast choice is excellent. The one downside when I stayed was that the lighting in the main room was poor; if one wanted to read, one either had to be in bed or in the en suite. I did comment on this on leaving to be told that the other twin to my room did have a reading light but the one in my room had recently been broken and a replacement was planned. The free internet access was rather intermittent in its availability because of the location of the property on this rather wild coast.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Pimubeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review us - much appreciated. Apologies you found the room lighting inadequate for your needs. Has been noted and new lamp on its way. Doesn't help you of course but thanks for bringing it to our attention. With daylight saving kicked in now it is a good reminder of the little things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The Breakers is located between Punakaiki and Greymouth on the West Coast of New Zealand. This awesome B&B is owned and managed by Jan. Jan is a lovely Kiwi that takes attention to detail to the highest standards for her establishment. Breakfast is always fresh and homemade; I especially loved the vegetable pancake the she uses for her eggs Benedict instead of the usually English muffin. Jan gave us print outs to the sights in the area and on our departure she gave us a print out of suggestions to stop at on our way to Queenstown. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds so enjoyable. We highly recommend this establishment. It is a must accommodation on the West Coast. 5 stars

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review. The pleasure is all mine in endeavoring to ensure your stay with us is as enjoyable as possible - great to hear I succeeded. Wishing you all the best and hope to see again some day and share more of our beautiful region with you. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a month in New Zealand and the Breakers B&B was by far the best place we stayed!! The property and accommodation are wonderful but the deciding factor for us was the owner Jan. She went out of her way to help us get the most of our three days in the area. Suggesting hikes, walks, off the beaten track places to visit. This assistance extended to the 2 days before we arrived at the Breakers, as we travelled from Queenstown, and 2 days after we left, as we headed to Abel Tasman Park!! Our stay at the Breakers and meeting Jan was the highlight of our trip

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank silkroadie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Wow - thanks so much for your outstanding review. Very humbled by your comments. It was an absolute pleasure to meet the both of you, thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed all my suggestions on things to see and do. Look forward to meeting up again in your neck of the world sometime soon. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This must be one of the best locations on the Wild West coast of NZ South Island. Perched above, and with immediate foot access to, a typical west coast shingle beach, each of the four suites has a great outlook over the ocean and the sound of ocean swells (muted if you keep the windows closed) hitting the shore is a rhythm we loved.
Our suite had a comfortable queen bed, a sitting area with large windows over looking the bay and access to a shared deck with seating. We had a very large, clean, bathroom with shower but no bath. The TV is small, wall mounted and the channel options are limited - not that it concerned us - that's not why you come here.
There is a large guest lounge with library and bottled wine for sale.
We had access to a guest fridge, drying rack (yes it rains here) and ironing board.
Jan is a superb hostess, welcoming, friendly and informative. There are many walks, short and long, in the area and she is full of information about them - she also lent us a book on NZ plants when we said we had trouble identifying the local flora. There is a cooked breakfast, eaten at a large communal table, included in the price.
Breakers is about 15km from Greymouth, but there is a character-filled local pub with a reasonable menu. There are many dining options in Greymouth.
We are one approaching the end of a lengthy tour of the South Island and, comparing this to out her places we have stayed, recommend it very highly. We stayed two nights but would happily have doubled this as a base to explore more of the region.

Room Tip: We had the 'Breakwater' suite - very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Thanks for your great review. Lovely to meet you both and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all that our location offered. It was lovely strolling along the beach with you both. Look forward to seeing you again sometime so we can showcase more of our region and all the great walks and history still to be discovered. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Our host made an excellent breakfast and was very knowledgeable about history, sights and other information. She made us very welcome and gave us great tips, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely comfortable big room with a large ensuite - no bath but and I do love a bath. We had a fridge with fresh milk, tea, coffee etc. we ate at the local pub 1st night, the steak was great but the veg from a freezer so we ate lunch out and bought home some dinner so we didn't have to go out. Our host Jan bought us plates, cutlery etc so we were all good.
We have a fabulous view from our room and can sit on our verandah and look at the waves rolling in, there is a walking trail from her down to the beach. It's too rough to swim. Plenty of towels, bathroom supplies, heating, bedding etc the only down side in our room amenities is a tiny tv. Really nice and clean too. Loved the sound of the waves crashing down below. It's about 15kms north of Greymouth so you will need a car!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timntoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thanks for your very detailed review. Glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time - we can always learn and so have taken all your comments on board for review. Regarding the TV - to be honest this has never been our top priority as we are more about enjoying the peace and tranquility of our surrounding location and nature but have taken your comments on board and replaced with a larger screen. Regarding limited dining options, we do offer in-house options so no driving is required but these do need prebooked or like you say you can bring your own to eat in your room - always happy to provide necessary cutlery and crockery. Our local pub is 2miles down the road and there a plenty of options in Greymouth - a 10 minute drive to the south.
All in all though a great review and much appreciated - Lovely to meet you both and thoroughly enjoyed our chats. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews