We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget to reserve dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Boutique Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yardley pa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Don't forget to reserve dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2016

The Breakers is pretty much perfect. We were in the Breakwater room which was also perfect. Large room with sitting area that opens up to a balcony. Incredible sunset view. Very modern, very clean, good internet speed, great breakfast, easy parking.

The inn is on a hill with a private garden and private path down to a beautiful, very deserted beach with a waterfall.

Strongly suggest calling ahead and arranging dinner. Jan, with notice, will cook up a pizza or a wonderful meat, cheese and fruit plate. Buy a bottle of wine on the way and have dinner in your room, the balcony or the garden. Just superb.

Room Tip: Loved the Breakwater room, great sunset and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Thanks so much for posting a review of your stay with us. Wonderful to hear we met all your expectations and you enjoyed our location and all that it offers. Thanks too for the plug regarding in house dining options. These are a great option so guests can relax after a day of traveling or exploring and make the most of our fabulous sea views. Glad you were able to make the most of that option yourselves. Lovely to meet you both - hope to see you again one day. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    43
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
286
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016

I was in one of the two rooms in what one might call the annexe. Parking was immediately outside and each of these rooms has its own balcony looking westward out to sea. The outlook means that on a bright sunny day, the room is really warm before the sun goes down but it cools quite rapidly. Breakfast choice is excellent. The one downside when I stayed was that the lighting in the main room was poor; if one wanted to read, one either had to be in bed or in the en suite. I did comment on this on leaving to be told that the other twin to my room did have a reading light but the one in my room had recently been broken and a replacement was planned. The free internet access was rather intermittent in its availability because of the location of the property on this rather wild coast.

Stayed April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Pimubeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review us - much appreciated. Apologies you found the room lighting inadequate for your needs. Has been noted and new lamp on its way. Doesn't help you of course but thanks for bringing it to our attention. With daylight saving kicked in now it is a good reminder of the little things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016

The Breakers is located between Punakaiki and Greymouth on the West Coast of New Zealand. This awesome B&B is owned and managed by Jan. Jan is a lovely Kiwi that takes attention to detail to the highest standards for her establishment. Breakfast is always fresh and homemade; I especially loved the vegetable pancake the she uses for her eggs Benedict instead of the usually English muffin. Jan gave us print outs to the sights in the area and on our departure she gave us a print out of suggestions to stop at on our way to Queenstown. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds so enjoyable. We highly recommend this establishment. It is a must accommodation on the West Coast. 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review. The pleasure is all mine in endeavoring to ensure your stay with us is as enjoyable as possible - great to hear I succeeded. Wishing you all the best and hope to see again some day and share more of our beautiful region with you. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a month in New Zealand and the Breakers B&B was by far the best place we stayed!! The property and accommodation are wonderful but the deciding factor for us was the owner Jan. She went out of her way to help us get the most of our three days in the area. Suggesting hikes, walks, off the beaten track places to visit. This assistance extended to the 2 days before we arrived at the Breakers, as we travelled from Queenstown, and 2 days after we left, as we headed to Abel Tasman Park!! Our stay at the Breakers and meeting Jan was the highlight of our trip

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silkroadie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Wow - thanks so much for your outstanding review. Very humbled by your comments. It was an absolute pleasure to meet the both of you, thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed all my suggestions on things to see and do. Look forward to meeting up again in your neck of the world sometime soon. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2016

This must be one of the best locations on the Wild West coast of NZ South Island. Perched above, and with immediate foot access to, a typical west coast shingle beach, each of the four suites has a great outlook over the ocean and the sound of ocean swells (muted if you keep the windows closed) hitting the shore is a rhythm we loved.
Our suite had a comfortable queen bed, a sitting area with large windows over looking the bay and access to a shared deck with seating. We had a very large, clean, bathroom with shower but no bath. The TV is small, wall mounted and the channel options are limited - not that it concerned us - that's not why you come here.
There is a large guest lounge with library and bottled wine for sale.
We had access to a guest fridge, drying rack (yes it rains here) and ironing board.
Jan is a superb hostess, welcoming, friendly and informative. There are many walks, short and long, in the area and she is full of information about them - she also lent us a book on NZ plants when we said we had trouble identifying the local flora. There is a cooked breakfast, eaten at a large communal table, included in the price.
Breakers is about 15km from Greymouth, but there is a character-filled local pub with a reasonable menu. There are many dining options in Greymouth.
We are one approaching the end of a lengthy tour of the South Island and, comparing this to out her places we have stayed, recommend it very highly. We stayed two nights but would happily have doubled this as a base to explore more of the region.

Room Tip: We had the 'Breakwater' suite - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Thanks for your great review. Lovely to meet you both and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all that our location offered. It was lovely strolling along the beach with you both. Look forward to seeing you again sometime so we can showcase more of our region and all the great walks and history still to be discovered. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
13.4 km away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
13.8 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
19.6 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
13.0 km away
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
26.3 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Property: Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price range (per night): $215 - $355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing