We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rod
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Worst motel I have ever stayed in

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2023
ZERO soundproofing. This was my experience:
Ground floor dingy room with 0 view. Bella Vista means beautiful view in Spanish - hardly.
But the main thing is the NOISE! 1. I could hear the people upstairs walking around. I could hear the people in the room beside me talking. When someone took a shower at 6am it woke me up as the water pipes made a very loud noise. I couldnt sleep until midnight when the people above me stopped walking around. I woke up at 6 when neighbour took shower. Don't stay here. Owners can't do anything about it as it is structural.
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this review
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $187
0.8 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
    $162
0.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
$163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $163
1.5 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $67
  • Expedia.com
    $89
1.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Expedia.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
    $95
1.6 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free parking
Beachfront
$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Priceline
    $148
3.1 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Vio.com
    $149
  • eDreams
    $149
6.5 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Algotels
    $146
  • Priceline
    $163
1.4 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Expedia.com
    $124
40.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
20.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Greymouth
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
54
81
38
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
81
38
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night bigger room would stay again room was clean light sleeper bed motel town shower unit monteiths host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

Stayed here before doing the west coast wilderness bike trail. Booked 15 minutes before arriving & it was so easy, so friendly & hassle free.

Super clean, great shower pressure & comfortable. $140 for two people is a good price too.

Stored our bikes safely in their garage which we appreciated.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much, your fantastic comments really are appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

We got the compact studio, it had a comfy bed, good shower and very clean and tidy, however like it's name means....it is small. Have to get any water for jug etc from bathroom and your only rubbish bin is in the bathroom as well. We would stay again but get a bigger room next time. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Best restaurant/pub in town a few hundred metres down the road.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you for all your comments and all very helpful for others guest booking ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022

This would be fine for us if we had a car, but we didn't so it was a pretty big walk into town & back. The unit was fine for one night & the people in reception very helpful. We appreciated the token for discount at Monteiths. For what we paid, I think next time we would make sure we were more central.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thanks Stella,
It is just over 1KM to the town centre and Yes Montieth's is a great place for dinner and being in-between us and the town centre, it's very walkable! We are pleased you enjoyed it there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022 via mobile

The room was clean and owner was nice, bed comfy and the shower was dam amazing,never had pressure in a shower like it , and the info folder in room had lots if good info, but thats about all the good things.
All night we could hear the people upstairs walking around, sliding doors being opened and shut and the next room coughing during the night, so when i read all the other comments about the rooms being quiet!! Maybe there was no one else there. We wont be staying there again

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 786Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Hi Nicola,
Thanks for all your comments, I am sorry to hear it was noisy the night you stayed, unfortunately we cannot control how conscious others guests are that they have neighbours! I am pleased you enjoyed all our other amenities though :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022 via mobile

From the moment we arrived and we’re met at the reception area this had a good vibe. We were met with a cheerful host who couldn’t do enough for us.
The unit was very clean and tidy, well stocked and very comfortable.
The bed was great and a quiet place to stay
Thank you for a wonderful experience

Room tip: Very accomodating, friendly and great to deal with
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bruiser6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nic Neame, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Thanks so much for your fantastic comments, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews