We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ModerationForMe
Charleston, South Carolina

Great Stay -- Quiet Area

Review of Paroa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Feb 2024
Great place to stay. Our unit was spacious and modern. Bathroom was huge. It was only a five minute walk to the coast to enjoy sunset and a morning stroll before heading on elsewhere in NZ. Bed was comfortable and area was quiet. Where to checkin was a little confusing, but once I realized it was at the bar, they were extremely helpful and personally took us to our room.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
5.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $95
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
6.3 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
7.9 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $86
  • Booking.com
7.7 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$176
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $176
6.5 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
7.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
161
52
18
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
161
52
18
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel motel short walk to the beach old fashioned shanty town new zealand would definitely stay here again a great place to stay stayed two nights bed was comfortable pancake rolls bernie netflix monk west coast accommodation hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2023

We were most fortunate in selecting this hotel to stay at for our trip by road from Picton to Greymouth. It is situated just 6kms south of Greymouth on the main highway. Traffic noise is not an issue.
The hotel has been a family run concern for 70years. It has undergone extensive renovations of all rooms and the actual hotel, restaurant/bar area. All expertly done and very aesthetic. Bernie, the owner & his family make guests so welcome. He often comes to chat while guests are having dinner. A very cheerful chap. Rooms are extremely modern with all that anyone could wish for. The on-site restaurant is an added bonus with excellent meals.
This hotel is recommended.

Room tip: Make sure to eat at the restaurant.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BroomeAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2023 via mobile

Checked in for a couple of nights and was very impressed by the whole business. Run by a very welcoming family there is a great feeling to the place, the bar and restaurant is a great spot to have a few drinks and a good meal (the seafood is incredibly fresh), the hotel rooms are well appointed and located a short walk from the beach.
If you are in the area this is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Thefamilytravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023 via mobile

We stayed just one night in an accessible cabin, which had a large balcony overlooking a pretty garden. It was a short walk to the beach.

This is an old fashioned, family run hotel (well, more a motel really as the accommodation seems to mostly be cabins separate from the main building). We met Bernie who had arrived at the hotel as a baby in the 1950s - a very friendly and charming man. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar and a chat about the history of the hotel, which is now run by Bernie’s children.

Our room was comfortable and had all the usual amenities e.g. kitchenette. The only disappointment was that the food at dinner was average at best.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JAHhotels1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

Had stayed here countless times during my working career.
While outside of main part of Greymouth it's close to Shantytown and beach for sunset photos.
Bernie and family have run the place for years and has maintained a high level of service to customers.
Units are snug but well appointed and there's a good restaurant and bar on property.
Plenty of off street parking for vehicles too.
Offers good old West Coast hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023 via mobile

The entire place looks like a downtown bar, smell from alcohol, and less like a hotel. The room was very hot, in the mid New Zealand summer, however, the owners probably don’t think an AC is a good investment. Tried to speak to them but they were rude and even violent. Stay away. We left after 5 minutes and got a refund from our bank.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Michael_Hsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan Monk, General Manager at Paroa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2023

In my entire career in hospitality I have never encountered guests like this. Imagine travelling round doing this at every venue they visit, can't be much of a holiday. One trick they use is to say its their birthday and ask for a free gift on arrival, like chocolates.

I'm not going to reply to these absurd allegations as it is not worth wasting another moment on this guest as they have already terrorised our staff and our hotel. I just pity the future restaurants and hotels that have to encounter these people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews