We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passport64604145236

Great stay.

Review of Paroa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2023
Great place to stay, very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and it was great having a bar and restaurant on site. Good location, we only stayed one night but managed to visit Pancake rocks, Greymouth and Shanty town.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $154
5.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $189
6.3 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $95
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $95
5.1 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $89
7.7 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
$163
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Priceline
7.9 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
$160
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
10.3 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$139
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $139
7.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
38.1 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
25.9 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
162
52
18
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
52
18
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel motel short walk to the beach old fashioned shanty town new zealand would definitely stay here again a great place to stay stayed two nights bed was comfortable pancake rolls bernie netflix monk west coast accommodation hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2023 via mobile

I remember staying here with my father when I was younger and decided to bring my kids here to stay because of the fond memories I had of Bernie Monk and his hotel.
This time around the stay was just as good as I recall it being all those years ago! The facilities are modern and comfortable, the staff are amazing, polite & helpful and the location is great! If you are planning on staying in Greymouth, you should book a room and meal at Paroa Hotel & restaurant! Highly recommended by my family and I.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AndrewP5570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Fantastic unit, comfy beds, well appointed, nice clean bathroom, excellent food in the restaurant and super friendly staff. Highly recommended. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Was a really nice stay. The hosts were so lovely. They treated us like friends instead of guests, even though it was our first time. And the cleaning staff were just as welcoming to us.

The room was well appointed, just as you see in the pictures. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was fabulous. The only sticking point was the bathroom door was a bit difficult to close.

The hotel is very handy to a local shop and right next to a tourist attraction and the beach. We loved the West Coast, so beautiful but there are still things we haven't seen or experienced. When we come back, we'll definitely stay at Paroa again.

Room tip: The hotel is a little out of town, but really it's just a 5 minute drive to the CBD. Shantytown is a must see attraction and right next door
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SearsclanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2023

We received a warm welcome when we arrived.

We travelled with our kids. The apartment was great. Very comfortable beds, very clean. We would happily return.

Would highly recommend and intend to stay again.

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank SueK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2022 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and our room was really clean. Love the layout out the room with smart tv in the living area and bedroom. Please looked brand new with how clean it was. It is 5 min away from graymourh

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Croppynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews