We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$175
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Indieiver

Excellent and friendly hotel

Review of Paroa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2020
Great accomodation, lovely people and excellent food. Really enjoyed my stay here. My room was lovely and the restaurant was warm & inviting and the food was really good. Thanks Alan service was great!
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
5.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Hotels.com
5.1 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
living room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Hotels.com
6.3 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
7.7 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $107
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
7.9 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Rapahoe - location of Beachview Motel
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $198
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    $198
16.6 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Expedia.com
7.8 km from Paroa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    $120
25.9 km from Paroa Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
161
52
18
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
161
52
18
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel motel short walk to the beach old fashioned shanty town new zealand would definitely stay here again a great place to stay stayed two nights bed was comfortable pancake rolls bernie netflix monk west coast accommodation hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Stopped for one night and big warm welcome by Bernie and Cath. Modern room which was immaculate. Food in restaurant was top notch. Cath took an interest in our plans and was very helpful on any queries. Location beside the beach allowed us to see a wonderful sunset. Great stay!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinEdeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We stayed only one night on our way to Queenstown from the Tranz Alpine Train but glad we picked this hotel. Family run, our rooms, suites? were spacious and clean. The beach was just walking distance and the food, both dinner and breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

Modern and spacious accommodation, with a great restaurant on site. We had our evening meal there and it was wonderful. Both my partner and myself chose the roast and it was delicious and plenty of it! Able to park car right outside our room which was very convenient. Management very friendly and helpful. Would well recommend.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goonergal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Im mostly a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton traveller, but this place is a wonderful little gem on the west coast. We stayed just for a night as we drove down the coast and the hotel/motel was wonderful - we had room 1 and it was spotless and comfortable. We also eat at the great little restaurant after a walk on the stunning beach. The staff were super friendly and helpful and after a great nights sleep we headed off down to Franz Joseph. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Miles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2020

On our way from Kaiteriteri to Greymouth we had got held at Murchison at 11 am due to a fatal accident and were told that we might not be able to continue our journey before 5 pm. Shock - given NZ's narrow and winding roads we feared not to turn up at Paroa Hotel before 10 pm. We informed them on potential late arrival and a reassuring message from Alan was received promptly. Slight relief... With the road closure being lifted earlier we made it before 7 pm und were greeted very warmly by Cath in the restaurant on a busy Friday evening. We had a first drink at the bar while she told us about the sights to be visited, made a dinner reservation for 8 pm and were shown to our apartment.

The hotel is motel style with direct room access from the car park. Apartment No. 1 comprised a kitchen with dining area, a bathroom with a shower and two bedrooms. Everything was sparkling clean and the bed turned out to be quite comfortable, extra wide with a firm mattress.

We got back to the restaurant at 8 pm. There was a family reunion in a separate room and only "our" table was empty. Cath took care of us again and while the routine would have been to order at the counter, get a number and a buzzer and pick up the ordered food yourself we were granted table service. Not necessary but obviously much appreciated in the lively ambience... The food was no frills but good and well-presented NZ home cooking style. We had a soup and bread with spreads followed by pan-fried scallops and the Beef and Reef, and accompanied by a bottle of NZ Pinot Noir (Villa Maria if I remember correctly?). While the weather was real bad the next morning breakfast (with Cath's husband Bernie joining us) was all the more excellent. I chose French Toast with bananas and berries while my husband had some eggs.

We stayed two nights with another nice dinner on Saturday und another chatty breakfast before going down south. The Paroa Hotel is not one of those expensive posh hotels but in its category it definitely deserves a five star rating!

One "insider" tip for those looking for some stylish place: By chance we met Alan (Monk Jr.) downtown in front of a restaurant that he had just opened two weeks before. His new "baby"... It looked great - we had no time to check it out, though.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews