We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paroa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashley Hotel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
100
39
15
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
39
15
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturbotribsa family run hotelbottle storelocal familiessmall deckmeals were greatfree netflixbeef and reefwell stocked mini barinformation on local attractionspopular restauranton site restauranthis sonstayed for two nightswest coast hospitalitypub meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We stayed for at the Paroa Hotel for five nights over Christmas/NY 2017 and had an amazing stay.

The rooms were modern and super clean and the patio lovely for afternoon drinks in the sun.

The hospitality of the Monk family was second to none and we felt very well looked after.

Dinner and drinks at the hotel are a must. All the food we had was delicious but the pork belly was a stand out.

10/10 and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Paroa Hotel Bar Restaurant is a must visit and stay if you are visiting the West coast if New Zealand. We have stayed over the years and was great to catch up with Bernie. Stay enjoy the food, hospitality and you must go for a walk on the beach and watch the sun set with not a soul on the beach with you. Food at restaurant yummy.. I had roast of the day and cauliflower cheese is to die for....

Room Tip: Studio king, lovely big bed, deck and chairs outside. Kitchenette well stocked with microwave etc..
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shona141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

An enjoyable visit to a great motel and bar. Friendly welcome from a host who was keen to please and give advice on local attractions. We ate in the very busy on site restaurant both evenings and were very pleased with what we had. Very comfy bed!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank westwalesfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Out of the 10 places we stayed in NZ, we decided this was our favorite. In the one night we stayed there we independently met and spoke with the friendly father, son, and daughter who were all are very involved in running this place. We had a great dinner and enjoyed an amazing sunset on a seemingly private and limitless beach behind the back of the hotel.

Overall, we were impressed with the small things about the hotel such as the cleanliness, bathroom heater and quality shower, and free netflix/youtube on the television.

5/5- recommend completely.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JamieFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable and freshly renovated motel. Rooms good size and excellent internet service. Location is great, a short walk to the beach. Pub on site is also very good with good selection of food and beers. All around a great stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews