We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
S1m0nT
Oxford, United Kingdom

Not as good or as bad as we expected...

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Oct 2013
Travelling on a hop-on-hop-off coach tour is a good way to get tips of places to see and places to stay. We were told how great this hostel was by one driver, and then how terribly awful it was by another. We weren't really sure what to expect. What we got was perfectly 'ok' - hence the average rating. The place is in dire need of a refurbishment. It is clean, but on a daily basis they are polishing a turd. The hostel has the potential to be one of the best in terms of it's facilities, but instead it is just dingy. The staff were friendly, the building was warm, the kitchen was large and well equipped, the lounge area has so much potential for being awesome with its huge couches and pool table and dart board. The chimney falling off the roof over night, the bathroom door not working, the back garden full of junk (reminding me of the scene with Steve Buscemi and the little girl in Con Air).

A very curious place. One that I would not choose again, but one that given no choice would be just about ok with... There are better places to stay in Greymouth.
Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $88
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $171
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $98
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free parking
Beachfront
Grey Valley River View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $154
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $154
0.5 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Booking.com
5.5 km from Neptunes International Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
16
11
8
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
11
8
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here for one night to break up our trip along the south west coast of NZ. It's a bit run down but still a comfortable good value stay. The lounge area is quite nice to relax in the evening at. Rooms are clean and comfortable but our on the small side. Good location to anything that you want to do in Greymouth, parking is free.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaR409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great place. Two louges very well warmed. There is a Playstation 1 in the Lounge! But only some CDs work =\
Nice kitchen. Good bedrooms.
Sometimes when much people is showing there's no hot water for everybody. But it is worth. It's very nice and don't judge it by the cover!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gessicalafeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2013

When you first arrive, you may not immediately warm to the overall appearance of the place, but don't let this put you off - this was one of the best and most refreshing night's sleep I had in my entire trip around the South Island. Room was warm and extremely large considering it was a four bed, with a double and a bunk. Towels provided was an excellent addition! Shower was really small but heated up quickly, and there as a sink both in our room and outside the showers for ease of teeth brushing etc. Didn't use the lounge or kitchen as spent the evening on the Monteith's Brewery Tour but believe the facilities to be very good. About a ten minute walk into town.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeMaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The best backpackers I stayed at during my tour of the south island. Even though there was not much to do in Greymouth, The staff organised a few games to get things going. Our room was nice. It was warm, spacious, and comfortable. The shower was very hot due to being coal heated. It may be down an industrial street, but it's fine, the river is straight across the road, which provides a nice walk to the warehouse, the town is right there anyway. Free wifi, nice people.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2013

On arrival, after a long journey, this backpackers seemed dingey and grim from the outside. We were initially unsure whether to stay or not, but very glad we did. After a very friendly welcome we made our way through the homely surroundings to our bedroom, equipped with hot water bottles, heaters, extra pillows/duvets and a tv/dvd with an unlimited DVD collection at reception. We were delighted! The communal area was very cosy, including a tv, comfortable sofa's and open fire. This backpackers has really stuck out in my mind as the most comfortable and friendly with all the extra's!!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reecie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews