We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$216
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Danny R
Auckland, New Zealand

Just Awesome

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2021
Stayed at Alpine Rose Motel in a one bed room apartment, we did the Alpine Kiwi rail scenic journey from Christchurch to Greymouth and decided to stay a few days to see the sites on the west coast of New Zealand.

Alpine Rose motel is clean, modern and in excellent condition, all amenities are of the highest quality, Carol and Roger who manage the place are real gems, both are helpful and advice you on the best places to visit . Every room has a car park which is necessary as Greymouth is a small town and not sure if public transport is available.

Will certainly stay again and I will advise friends to stay here too.
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Gill, Owner at The Alpine Rose Motel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear Danny,

Many thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alpine Rose. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your wife, people like yourself make our business a pleasure and bring a smile to our face. We do hope that you are enjoying the rest of your travels and do hope that we get to see you again sometime. Take care. Kind regards Roger and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
living room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $95
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $90
  • Expedia.com
2.0 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
237
60
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
60
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner across the road stay there again room was spacious excellent stay train station good size stayed nights fox glacier town centre road noise a great place to stay pancake rolls roger motel supermarket kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2021

A very well maintained motel situated a little distance out of town. The rooms are large and the cleaning lady did an amazing job of making it spotless. There is an error on the website saying that you can hire bikes at the motel.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninab153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Gill, Owner at The Alpine Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Dear Nina, many thanks for your wonderful review. We do have two bikes available for use - free of charge. We do keep them stored in the garage as we want to protect them from the sea air. Kind regards Roger and carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

Wonderful place to stay in Greymouth. The accommodation was superb, clean, inviting and of exceptional quality. The welcome from the hosts Roger and Carol was warm and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to making a return visit in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bagsey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Gill, Owner at The Alpine Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Dear Bagsey, Many thanks for your fantastic review we appreciate it very much and do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Roger and Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

Superb accommodation in terms of facilities, comfort and service. Carol and Roger are great hosts who incidentally make a super tasty and value breakfast delivered to your unit when you want it. My wife and I will certainly stay at this accommodation when returning to Greymouth.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank jaybeeZ3077CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Gill, Owner at The Alpine Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Dear Jaybee, Thank you so much for your fantastic review we appreciate it very much. Wishing you a very happy Christmas and safe New Year. Kind regards Roger and Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

We had no booking but drove into the motel to inquire. The owners were just delightful, they booked us in and then proceeded to help us regarding things to to in Greymouth and the surrounding area. The motel is well presented inside and outside.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank travlinOhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020

A very tidy comfortable stay. Linda & Roger are great hosts. Close to town centre and right across the street from the Hospital. BEST STAY ON OUR MONTH LONG TOUR OF THE SOUTH ISLAND, Rate 5 out of 5. I would definitely recommend.

Room tip: Phone Linda or Roger direct for best deals.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 4MyMcDarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews