We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jane F
Ashburton, New Zealand

Great place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2019via mobile
What a fab place to stay! Close to town, supermarket etc. great hosts with good recommendations on the area. Rooms were clean and tidy and very comfortable. Lovely swings for the kids. Would absolutely recommend!
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
living room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $96
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Grey Valley River View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $189
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
238
60
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
60
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner across the road stay there again room was spacious excellent stay train station good size stayed nights fox glacier town centre road noise a great place to stay pancake rolls roger motel supermarket kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2019 via mobile

Booked to stay for one night rang to extend to two. No problem. Arrived a bit early, no problem. Very warm welcome on arrival. Booked the superior one bedroom unit. Very comfortable, very clean and tidy. Easy access to town with supermarket just across the road. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GDCT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2019

After a day on the TranzAlpine Train we stayed at the Alpine Rose in Greymouth. What an amazing p[lace to stay. The rooms are generously sized with great kitchen and bathroom facilities. After three weeks of very active touring of NZ we were really tired and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud! Hosts Eric and Ester are very welcoming and assisted us with information regarding Greymouth, places to visit and eat and even a lift to and from the train station. Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Thinking of planning a week or so in the area and using this accommodation as out base. Will come again.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2019

After such a good experience in the past at the Alpine Rose we booked again this trip and yet again had a great stay - very quiet, clean, comfortable and well set up rooms.
Location is good for most of the attractions around Greymouth and if your happy with a nice walk the town with all its eateries and shops is only about half an hours walk or five mins in the car.

Room tip: The rooms we have had over a number of stays have been first class
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brynkoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Reasonable prices. Informative pleasant host who happily recommended places to eat and very knowledgeable about areas to visit.
Room was amazing with kitchen, microwave, separate toilet, comfortable bed and even black towel for makeup removal 😁. Also, free choc’s! Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

We weren’t expecting much from this little motel but it really exceeded our expectations. When we arrived the owner gave us some tips on what to see, where to eat and provided us with some maps. The rooms looked very clean and modern. I loved the bath and the little extra touches like chocolates on the bed. The bed was really comfortable and there’s nothing I could fault about this place. We really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews