We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at historic old home”

Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The property was easy to find. Plenty of street parking. The home is old, beautiful, and well kept. The property managers were friendly and welcoming. This was the busy season and I had to take the last room remaining on the 2nd floor. The room was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was across the hall but it was private for myself only. To be clear I knew what i was getting beforehand. I believe ALL the other rooms have baths attached to their bedrooms. The room was hot but it was unseasonably warm and I don't fault the property for that. I slept fine with the windows open all night and just a sheet. Wifi worked great. I enjoyed sitting on the patio enjoying the evening air and having a cocktail. The breakfast was the best part. Stephan cooks a made to order hot breakfast if you wish. There are also plenty of cold healthy options to choose. Bravo to Stephan and his wife.

Room Tip: lower floor with attached bath
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rickybrowneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed with Stefan for 1 night and everything was catered for. Room was lovely - bathroom huge and breakfast the next morning was very tasty - we did learn that Stefan was or is a chef!!!
I didn't find the room cold but then I do like cool rooms - as previous reviewer said we had our dinner in Buccleugh's - recommended by Stefan - and it was lovely

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank killard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our only experience of staying in a b and b in New Zealand. The room was comfortable - if a little cold - and the bathroom was huge! The owners had put a lot of thought into making guests feel welcome: water in the room, together with fudge, leaflets in the lounge, tea and coffee available, toiletries, hairdryer etc.
The full breakfast was good and Stefan was welcoming and helpful. The garden is very pretty.
There was a good restaurant (Buccleugh' s) within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in Greymouth for 1 night, passing through, and had chosen this accommodation specifically.

We found it easily and there was no problem parking in the road out front. The owner, Stefan, welcomed us warmly and gave us 'the tour.' We had a lengthy chat with him in the tea room, tea and coffee are available to guests at all times and wi fi is free though difficult to connect.

The room was comfortable, though a little cold, but electric fires were provided in the room and did not have to be requested.

The shower room/toilet was spacious and there was plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was very pleasant and cooked by Stefan, a trained chef.

We found a very nice restaurant a 2 minute walk from the b & b where we had a very nice meal in the evening.

Greymouth was only ever going to be a stopping off point and this b & b accommodation was a pleasant change from the hotels we were booked to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Rosewood is a lovely house restored in keeping with its origins. The hall way is wooden paneled and everything is tasteful and low key. We had a room at the front which was very large and also had a huge shower room. The road was a little noisy. Welcoming and helpful hosts and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
2.2 km away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
97 reviews
0.9 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
1.2 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
367 reviews
0.3 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
0.7 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Greymouth

Been to Rosewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range: $153 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent welcoming service by experienced hosts within walking distance of the town centre. One of Greymouth's most admired houses with stunning garden, 5 guest rooms, (3 ensuite, 1 private bathroom or 2 shared), separate guest lounge with home baked cookies. Full breakfast, wireless Internet, courtesy pick up from Transalpine, off-street parking all included in tariff. Laundry Service also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosewood Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing