We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$192
No prepayment needed
$192
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
69
175
241
132
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
175
241
132
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds middle of town comfortable hotel bit dated railway station would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

Terrific location in Greymouth in the centre of town. Nice communal sitting areas and friendly man in the bar. Our room was at the back on the ground floor no view, and pretty dark. The bathroom is old, but clean, with cracked paint and the toilet and vanity are old. Bed and pillows were of a passable standard. We have seen TV commercials advertising free breakfast for Millenium hotels (and the Kingsgate is mentioned ) if you book direct, but apparently they aren’t participating. First and last visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Willyama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Dear Michael, I am happy that Brian looked after you in the bar, but sorry that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay with us. With regards to your breakfast, our winter package including breakfast started on the 8th April and advertising for this only commenced on the 8th. unfortunately you booked your room on the 25th March when that package had not been advertised or available. However, when you were checking out breakfast was offered to you free of charge, you declined this offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019

The staff here were friendly and helpful and we had a large room with an OK bathroom. But a lot of improvements can be made to this hotel, which after all is in a prime position. The breakfast was ordinary, there was only one channel on the TV, there were holes in the curtains, and the shower could be much too hot if you are not careful.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Jarndyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Where to start very below par not worth $169 a night that’s a joke maybe $99 you wouldn’t feel so ripped off. We had a superior room no fan no air con room was extremely hot & stuffy. Could open door to small balcony but you share your balcony with your neighbours & didn’t feel comfortable leaving a door open all night. Double bed only!!!! furnishings out dated walls paper thin could hear everything. Poor lighting. Place looks good from outside but then you step back in time. Best part was leaving.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 666pecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Dear 666pecker, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unfortunate that we do not have air conditioning in the hotel, we do have pedestal fans available. We are aware that it is time for a makeover and am happy to say that we start shortly re furbishing our superior rooms and that there will be no double beds, these will be replaced by queens and kings, currently our Riverview and Junior Suites have super king beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

this hotel is well passed its prime. and sorely in need of some attention. Windows, what there were of them didn't open properly and the drapes were hanging off their hooks.There had been no attention to detail in presenting the room. But it was clean .
Give the restaurant a miss. The male staff where rude and bumptious and the food awful. there must be somewhere else to eat in this town.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celine805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

After a long drive from Wanaka, we arrived in the afternoon around 5pm and checked in.
Good service at reception. We have booked a Junior suite, but that was a joke. It was two rooms connected and filled with furniture. Also a small kichen, with tables and chairs.
But all very worned down, table almost dirty and windows hadn´t seen a cleaner for years. So not the best place we stayed at. Bed was OK to sleep in.
Had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Half of the restaurant was filled with chinse turist that had there own buffet and in the other half, it was quite ok with people.
Good service from a gentleman and we had a OK meal, that was worth the money we paid. We didn´t have breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews