We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$162
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Martin R

Greymouth Motel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2022
Stayed 2 nights and comfortable and clean. Had a very nice outdoor communal eating area…picnic table and umbrella and in a nicely landscaped area. Had Sky sport and m9vies and internet that seemed to last longer than normal.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$229
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$176
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Tripadvisor
$190
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$105
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $87
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $94
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Aachen Place Motel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
61
56
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
56
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trans alpine stayed nights the kitchen railway station motel hosts town accommodation sky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

Cold night. No heating on. We couldn’t get the electric heater to work. The lady in charge couln’t either as she visibly had no idea how it worked. Pretended it worked, which it clearly didn’t. Became rude when advised we would have to change accomodation. Who needs this ? We did get our money back, but after 45 minutes of this, at an already late hour, that is still a very long way from an apology. When asked where we should go she just said: you’re going to have to look for another pplace. Guess what. We did !

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B1401EDdanieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Firstly, we always have our heating on for those that have pre booked a room so it is lovely and warm when our guests arrive. Not our empty rooms at 8.45pm at night.

Secondly, the heater as you called it, is a newly installed Heat Pump which works perfectly well. However if you push every button on the remote over and over the Heat Pump would need to be re-set. Once the re-set button on the Heat Pump is pushed, it does take a few minutes for it to re-set. If you don't give it time to re-set, and start pushing buttons again - you would need to re-set it again which is what happened. By the time you put your bags back into your vehicle and returned to reception the Heat Pump was going fine.

Thirdly, We did not advise you change accommodation, this was your decision, and you are right "Who needs this", we don't at 9pm at night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021

A one night stop after arriving from Christchurch. Lovely 2 bedroom unit. Clean, comfortable unit with a well-equipped kitchen including full oven and stovetop. Walking distance to restaurants and supermarket.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cfma2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Perfectly located and even though you are on a main road you don't hear traffic. The suite we had was spacious with a large bathroom, good sized bedroom and perfect lounge/kitchenette. The rooms were clean and very well presented. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows were supplied. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Thank you so much for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

I rang rather than booking online and got a better deal. Our room was spotless and the bed comfy. A heatpump kept us cozy as the weather was wet and cold. Would not hesitate to stay here again. A short drive into town.is a plus.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Glad you enjoyed our recently refurbished studio's. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

Barry and Michele were friendly hosts who picked us up from, then dropped us off at the train station at no cost to us, even though I organised this a bit last minute. Clean and comfortable unit that looked like it had been refurbished recently. Milk in a bottle was a cool idea. Even though it was close to the road we found it to be quiet at night. Beds were comfy and linen clean.

Room tip: Rooms further from road may be quieter
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ripplesb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our newly installed double glazing certainly does help with road noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews