We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant ”

Buccleugh's on High
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Greymouth
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Buccleugh's On High is a stand alone restaurant but part of the Recreation Hotel. Diners can eat in the restaurant but also have the option of eating off the restaurant menu in our lively and clean bar.
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here whilst staying in Greymouth and the food is delicious. They are also very good with food allergies. The staff are lovely and it was so nice we went back again the next morning for breakfast.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Debsjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

This place was right on the doorstep so we used it rather than travel further afield after a long days drive. It was fine but not spectacular. The bar was good and popular with the locals with a separate restaurant to the rear serving good value basic meals. I wouldn't rave about it but in the context of the trip and the location is was good enough.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 56stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Was surprised how good the food was, considering they have paper napkins and cheap tables and chairs. I had the pasta of the day, was incredibly delicious, husband had the blue nose fish of the day and it was also delicious. The best food we've had so far in New Zealand. I guess atmosphere isn't everything as this place had no ambiance, just great food.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We were staying close by and this place had been recommended by two people.
We thought at first it was shut but on further inspection found it to be open and breakfast was cooked to order and it was very good.
The recommendations were endorsed!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The wait staff were very helpful but the menu is pretty basic & the chicken breast I had was dry, piled on what was close to compost (green veg on the menu) with an excess of spuds halved & roasted (described as rostis - careful my Swiss friends) & stacked up with a sweet sticky sauce that made every element taste the same.

I would have given a rating of one but my wife enjoyed her meal.

Wheelchair access was OK but very confusing. The restaurant is out the back of a pub & the main entrance has stairs. You can access it via ramps to both the bottle shop (quite steep) & the main bar but there is no signage.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CrippAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Buccleugh's on High also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to Buccleugh's on High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.