We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Greymouth”

Buccleugh's on High
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Buccleugh's On High is a stand alone restaurant but part of the Recreation Hotel. Diners can eat in the restaurant but also have the option of eating off the restaurant menu in our lively and clean bar.
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

There aren’t many options to choose from in Greymouth, but this place was clean, fancy, and the food was good! I got the smoked chicken salad, and it was pretty good! My daughter got the egg tart and it was delicious. You will find something good here. Not a lot of options though.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank simpmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Walked to dinner at the Buccleugh’s restaurant which hostess, Linda recommended. So glad we went there, I had the most delicious cod dinner topped with a hollandaise sauce and a baked potato and veggies. It was one of the nightly specials. My husband had another one of the offered specials that was a pork roast with potatoes and vegetables. Both generous portions and excellent. The wait staff were prompt and friendly and the atmosphere inviting.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 323ellenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Twenty minutes walk out of town this restaurant’s well worth the stroll. We went quite early on a Monday evening and it was already fairly busy and continued to fill up during our stay.
The service was friendly and the waitresses very happy to answer our questions even to the point of asking chef about the flavour and texture of the fish of the day.
We shared a chowder starter in a delicious tomato based sauce, stuffed with prawns, muscles and chunks of light poached fish. Sublime!
I then had fish of the day for the main course and the portion was huge; beautifully cooked white fillet chunks over perfectly steamed vegetables in a decadently rich sauce with king prawns and sweet chilli sauce. The presentation was superb and the flavours wonderful.
Sadly our mains were too large a portions for us to even contemplate dessert and that would be my only complaint. I would certainly dine here again if we are ever in Greymouth and from the number of other guests who’d filled up the tables by the time we left, I’d not be alone.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Mandi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Fantastic service, had Blue Cod and chips - was expensive but tasted great.
Highly recommend eating her if you're in Greymouth. Restaurant had a good vibe and the portion size was generous.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lauranoblejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This is a nice place for a meal , has the look and feel of something a bit upmarket compared to a pub meal , I had the venison, one of my sons had the t bone steak, the other one had the cod fish and chips and my husband had the white bait fritters . There was no bread rolls to have with the meal and we only has 1 alcoholic drink. The rest had soft drinks , no dessert and the meal came to $143.00 . The service was fast and friendly , the meals served in an efficient and timely manner , all meals were good , my husband felt that the whitebait fritters were a little soft , they did not feel as fresh as they should have, the t bone steak was a little on the thin side although cooked nicely. The fish was beautiful and the venison very nice . Overall the meal was good but I think if you searched you could find better value for your money.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JULIE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Buccleugh's on High also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to Buccleugh's on High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.