We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passport47392336370

INCENSED! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2024
WARNING!!! I never write reviews but am so incensed by the garbage Jacksons Retreat Alpine Holiday Park sells at top $ I just had to...

1. A crappy tent site for $48 is bad enough, more than any other far superior sites on the South Island but ... wait for it ...

2. We booked a pre erected tent for 4 fully expecting a 4 man tent in the style of the canvas tents available. You need to look at the photo to see what they provided - if it wasn't serious it would be hilarious!

A $50 warehouse tent stuffed in the corner of a hay shed on the dirt!!!
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Drive on!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$195
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $194
40.4 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$220
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • Priceline
    $220
40.4 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Vio.com
    $175
  • eDreams
    $175
38.1 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
$172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $172
40.5 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $95
40.5 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free parking
Beachfront
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $89
40.7 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$142
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $142
40.2 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
42.9 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free parking
Restaurant
Grey Valley River View
$154
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $154
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Algotels
    $181
41.0 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
214
16
7
0
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
214
16
7
0
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms arthur's pass waterfall walk native bush stunning location clean facilities camping ground walks sites kitchen toilets cabin quarry campground timer utensils hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Spent a few nights here whilst travelling in a Campervan last month.
The facilities are very good, amazing scenery, can’t ask anymore .
There even a waterfall in the site grounds - about 20 minutes walk, add in the Glow Worms you can see in 4 parts of the site and it’s definitely on the return list for us!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 40lloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

This was a nice place to stop for two nights in our camper van on a level powered pitch for a rainy-day break during a six week tour of NZ. Check-in was easy and Jane in the office was friendly and helpful. The showers were good and hot in real glass-door cubicles although the bathrooms were unheated. The kitchen and common room was spacious, well equiped and had a big log fire going. All facilities were clean. Wifi is NZ$6 extra per 24h for three devices but worked really well everywhere. We went glow-worm hunting but didn't succeed in the rain!

It's only the wifi cost and unheated bathrooms (6C outside!) that knocked points off excellent for us.

Room tip: There nowhere to eat out or shop nearby so be prepared to cook
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FulhamPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023

We checked in after office hours yet the whole process was smooth and quick! Rang the bell, receptionist served us, and we immediately got a powered lot nearby the facilities. We were lucky the site wasn't crowded that night.

There were passcodes to the toilets (great for safety wise), and the heater in the showers was unlimited unlike other holiday parks which has a timer of 6 minutes. I'm a clean freak and I was glad that the toilets were clean.

Kitchen is right beside the toilet, and there are also fire logs at night to keep you warm during winter. Boiling water, sinks and utensils are all available to use.

For those who loves to go for a morning exercise, there's a short trek (40 minutes return) which leads to the Ngarimu Waterfall. We went there at about 10AM and managed to catch a rainbow in action! For night activities, you can check out the glow worms which are located at various places of the retreat.

All in all, it was a great stay. Just make sure you have your torchlights with you as it can get very dark at night with not many street lamps around.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank prncsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

Jackson's retreat is a top notch 10/10 place to stay. The facilities offered were excellent and nicer than the campervan site at Milford Sound. The lounge and kitchen area were well equipped and it was the perfect spot to stay near Arthur's Pass. The friendly staff went above and beyond the extra mile to help us out when we were in a pinch. I want to send out a huge thank you to them for letting us use the computer to print out forms for replacing our wet Canadian passports. We were so grateful to be able to sort out applications for new temporary travel documents. Couldn't have done it without their assistance. Kiwi hospitality at it's best! I highly recommend staying here when you visit Arthur's Pass.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kimmandzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023 via mobile

What a lovely place. The sites were nice and clean with plenty of room. The hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable. The surrounding was fantastic. The glow worms and waterfalls are a must see. Best of all, the bathrooms were extraordinarily clean

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews