We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tom R
Dayton, Ohio

Wonderful place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2023via mobile
What a lovely place. The sites were nice and clean with plenty of room. The hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable. The surrounding was fantastic. The glow worms and waterfalls are a must see. Best of all, the bathrooms were extraordinarily clean
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $216
40.4 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $175
40.4 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Vio.com
    $175
  • eDreams
    $175
38.1 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
$172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
    $172
40.5 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $93
  • Expedia.com
    $95
40.5 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free parking
Beachfront
$81
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $89
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $89
40.7 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$146
  • Priceline
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $131
40.2 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
42.9 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free parking
Restaurant
Grey Valley River View
$139
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Algotels
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $139
41.0 km from Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
214
16
7
0
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
214
16
7
0
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms arthur's pass waterfall walk native bush stunning location clean facilities camping ground walks sites kitchen toilets cabin quarry campground timer utensils hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2023

The facilities were the most immaculate we’ve ever experienced. The views to die for, glow worms for night time adventure, a splendid waterfall walk, shady creek for the kids to play in and plenty of walks nearby. Spent 3 days adventuring here

Room tip: Great location for adventures. 4wd? The Taipo river valley is amazing. Cockayne Nature Walk is a great short loop.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JulieB8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2022

stunning location between Arthurs Pass and the Wild west coast. Idyllic native bush setting with lots of birdlife and stunning diverse rainforest.

We had a cabin which had a really comfy bed and space for us to sort out our gear.

Friendly helpful staff and great kitchen/lounge with outlook into the forest.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful few days away from our busy city lives! We all loved our stay at Jackson’s Retreat (except for the sandflies) and enjoyed the glow worms, bush walks, waterfalls and serenity of your location. Friendly hosts made our stay enjoyable and the bathrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen in a camping ground! Totally recommend for everyone to stay and visit!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LizMc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2022

Loved the location, waterfall and fresh mountain water. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and everything u need or might have forgotten to bring available in kitchen.
Stayed 2 nights in tent... only gripe was ground very rocky so bent some of our tent pegs.
Nearly got lost trekking to the old quartz mine so hope the way gets cleared or better marked before others venture there.
Will definitely be back sometime!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank paulamV5902IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2021 via mobile

What a beautiful location, far enough off the road so no road noise. And the bird song!
Beautiful landscaping. Facilities have everything you need. A surprise was the camp store, we bought honey which was very well priced and eggs which were huge. Thank you Chris for your warm welcome and helpfulness, we will come again for sure.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NzTravellingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2021

Excellent!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Glow Worms were a real treat last night after all the rain had stopped. We love our yummy honey too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews