We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alvin
Palmerston North, New Zealand

A nice place to stay

Review of Sundowner Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2021
It is a nice place to stay. Rooms are very good and tidy. Up on hill over looking railway station and great view of town.
Staff service was fantastic trying to help us get back to Christchurch, due to train cancelled by level 2 covid.
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Torrens, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2021
Good Morning to you both, thanks for your great review following your stay with u earlier this month. Glad we could help you out trying to get you back to Christchurch. We hope it all went well and you got home in the end.
Hope to see you again someday and in the meantime stay safe.

Cheers Murray and Wendy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Vio.com
    $175
  • eDreams
    $175
7.9 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $48
  • Agoda.com
40.7 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
18.8 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $193
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
    $162
1.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $220
2.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $172
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Priceline
    $172
2.0 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Booking.com
    $89
0.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $93
  • Priceline
    $95
3.1 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Grey Valley River View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $139
  • Algotels
    $123
  • Priceline
    $139
0.4 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
109
58
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
58
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station fresh milk trans alpine a great place to stay new zealand wendy murray hosts christchurch motel tranzalpine countdown coast units west wifi track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

Had a great stay, comfortable, clean accommodation, great location, close to everything. Owners went above and beyond to those train going travellers. Thoroughly recommend staying at this location, great advice on cafes etc A+++

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Macdon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Torrens, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2020

Hi Jo
Thanks for the wonderful comments following your recent stay at the Sundowner Motel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Greymouth and got to sample some of the great eatries that Greymouth has on offer. Hopefully your train trip back was memorable. Hope to see you again some time if you travel again to the West Coast. All the best and stay safe. Murray & Wendy Torrens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

We had an excellent 2 night stay in clean , well designed,comfortable room.
Murray offered to collect us from the train station and then gave us lots of invaluable info about the local places of interest.There was lots of coffee, tea and fresh milk,replaced daily .All furniture and fittings worked well apart from the kettle which was immediately replaced with a new one and a with a smile!
Excellently located for shops, station and cafes
Good value for money. Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Hi Karen

Thanks for your excellent review on Tripadvisor. Its always nice to hear the our guests have enjoyed their stay with us at the Sundowner Motel.

Your courier bag arrived today so we have sent your property via the courier this afternoon, hope it arrive in time for you.

Have a safe and enjoyable holiday, Regards Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

The motel is just a short walk(or in our case bike ride) from the train station. The rooms are clean, efficient and very comfortable. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our cycle trip on the West Coast Wilderness trail. You can leave directly from the hotel and be on the trail in a few minutes. We had a room on the backside - no view- but it was quiet and an easy place to sort our bikes etc. The hosts are very welcoming and ready to answer questions and help you get what you need. We came back at the end of our trail ride because it worked so well.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carolynk754
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Hi Carolyn,
Thanks so much for your review and also your personal email telling us how much you were both enjoying Golden Bay.
Happy to hear that the Sundowner Motel worked well for your needs and we enjoyed having you both stay with us recently. We wish you all the best and hope you enjoy safe and happy travels, Kind Regards Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

As soon as we arrived we felt welcome.Murray and Wendy were so helpful and we had a great stay.Excellent parking and laundry facilities.Lovely large room and location.Highly recommended.Thanks for the lovely stay.Murray offered us a great place to eat and helped us with anything we needed to know.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GavinT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Hi GavinT39,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at the Sundowner Motel. Glad you enjoyed staying in our accommodation complex while you were on the West Coast and we would welcome you back in the future. Regards Murray and Wendy Sundowner Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. The owners were so friendly and welcoming and their recommendation for an evening meal venue was spot on! The room was spacious and warm with a very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean throughout.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank richardb8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Hi Richard,

Thanks so much for your great review following your stay with us at the Sundowner Motel on your recent visit to the scenic west coast. It is always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed staying here and also great to hear you enjoyed your evening meal at Monteiths Brewery.
Hope to see you both here again in rthe futur, Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews