We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mslarma
Auckland, New Zealand

Great place with great hosts.

Review of Sundowner Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2019
A big thank you to Murray and Wendy for making our stay in Greymouth very enjoyable. Loved our units and were very warm and cosy. Murray picked us up from the train station and even took us into town for dinner that night. He also drove us to the station for our return trip back to christchurch. When we got back he even found us a pack of cards for us to enjoy the rest of our night (which we did and hope we did not annoy any of our neighbors with our laughter) Would highly recommend you stay here when you go to Greymouth. Thanks again
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Hi mslarma,

Thanks so much for your great review after staying here earlier this week. It was a pleasure to have you all here and we would look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Hope the return train journey went well and you all got home safely, Cheers Murray and Wendy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $179
2.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
    $163
1.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $89
0.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$163
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$88
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $123
40.7 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
18.8 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
living room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
110
58
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
58
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station fresh milk trans alpine a great place to stay new zealand wendy murray hosts christchurch motel tranzalpine countdown coast units west wifi track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

Sundowner have provided fantastic service over the months i have stayed and have been very accommodating. Great rooms, great location and even better wifi. Would highly recommend if traveling to Greymouth. :)

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Cliffdawg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2019

Hi Cliffdawg8

Thanks so much for your rave review on Tripadvisor, its always a pleasure to have you both stay with us at the Sundowner Motel when you are working on the coast and nice to know that the free wifi works well.
Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

Very clean place with friendly owner. The rooms are a good size and we had a very pleasant stay. Quiet area close to town . All in all if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Greymouth give them ago.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Good Morning and thank you for your review on the Sundowner Motel. It is always nice to hear from our guests and pleased you enjoyed our location close to town and also our rooms. We wish you happy and safe travels, Regards Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

Forgot the pic, check it out on Google if you want to see it.
On the fringe of town and steep site but level spot to park the bikes. Welcoming and helpful hosts. Comfortable room and facilities with the capacity to be self-contained if wanted. Room to spread out our kit. Comfortable bed. Heated Lowell rai ideal to dry our wet bike gear. Free Wi-Fi. The best shower (heat and volume) we’ve had since we’ve been in NZ.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi Nola, Thanks for your great review and thanks for choosing to stay at the Sundowner Motel on your recent motor bike tour of NZ. It was great to see you both enjoying the scenic West Coast on your bikes and we hope the rest of your kiwi holiday was safe and enjoyable, Regards Murray & Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Travelled directly from Christchurch airport. This motel was not the one that we had originally booked, but as there was a mess up with our original booking, The Sundowner was one of only a few motels/hotels in Greymouth that had rooms at short notice.
Great parking, right outside the self contained unit. Separate twin bedded room in addition to studio style kitchen/double bed. Spotlessly clean bathroom. Great shower. Two hob electric rings, microwave, toaster, kettle, fan, TV.
Excellent reception service from über helpful Wendy.
When back in Greymouth, will make this our FIRST choice to stay again!!!!

Murray and Wendy, thanks once again for helping us out at short notice!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevebt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi Steve. Thank you so much for your rave review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and glad we could help you out with accommodation for the night. Hope the road closure down south has not disrupted your plans to much and the rest of your NZ holiday is enjoyable. Happy and safe travels Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Very clean, with nice size rooms. We were located in the back and it was quiet enough. The Owner was particularly friendly and gave us lots of tips on things to do, including the tide timings for the Pancake Rocks, that made us swap the itinerary around. Conveniently located and only a few mins walk to the town centre

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Hi Flatts
Thanks for your great review after staying at the Sundowner Motel recently. Yes its important to time your visit to the Pancake Rocks with a high tide to experience this natural rock formation. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and yes the rear rooms are very quiet, however the front block is double glazed and all rooms a well st back from the road. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews