We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dnh2014
Loxton, Australia

" Nice enough Motel"

Review of Sundowner Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2019
Very clean place with friendly owner. The rooms are a good size and we had a very pleasant stay. Quiet area close to town . All in all if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Greymouth give them ago.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2019
Good Morning and thank you for your review on the Sundowner Motel. It is always nice to hear from our guests and pleased you enjoyed our location close to town and also our rooms. We wish you happy and safe travels, Regards Murray and Wendy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Vio.com
    $175
  • eDreams
    $175
7.9 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Algotels
    $160
  • Priceline
    $181
0.4 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $130
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Expedia.com
    $124
40.7 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
18.8 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $190
2.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $193
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
    $162
1.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Priceline
    $104
0.3 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $91
  • Priceline
    $95
3.1 km from Sundowner Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $165
4.6 km from Sundowner Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
110
58
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
58
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station fresh milk trans alpine a great place to stay new zealand wendy murray hosts christchurch motel tranzalpine countdown coast units west wifi track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2019

Forgot the pic, check it out on Google if you want to see it.
On the fringe of town and steep site but level spot to park the bikes. Welcoming and helpful hosts. Comfortable room and facilities with the capacity to be self-contained if wanted. Room to spread out our kit. Comfortable bed. Heated Lowell rai ideal to dry our wet bike gear. Free Wi-Fi. The best shower (heat and volume) we’ve had since we’ve been in NZ.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi Nola, Thanks for your great review and thanks for choosing to stay at the Sundowner Motel on your recent motor bike tour of NZ. It was great to see you both enjoying the scenic West Coast on your bikes and we hope the rest of your kiwi holiday was safe and enjoyable, Regards Murray & Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Travelled directly from Christchurch airport. This motel was not the one that we had originally booked, but as there was a mess up with our original booking, The Sundowner was one of only a few motels/hotels in Greymouth that had rooms at short notice.
Great parking, right outside the self contained unit. Separate twin bedded room in addition to studio style kitchen/double bed. Spotlessly clean bathroom. Great shower. Two hob electric rings, microwave, toaster, kettle, fan, TV.
Excellent reception service from über helpful Wendy.
When back in Greymouth, will make this our FIRST choice to stay again!!!!

Murray and Wendy, thanks once again for helping us out at short notice!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevebt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi Steve. Thank you so much for your rave review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and glad we could help you out with accommodation for the night. Hope the road closure down south has not disrupted your plans to much and the rest of your NZ holiday is enjoyable. Happy and safe travels Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Very clean, with nice size rooms. We were located in the back and it was quiet enough. The Owner was particularly friendly and gave us lots of tips on things to do, including the tide timings for the Pancake Rocks, that made us swap the itinerary around. Conveniently located and only a few mins walk to the town centre

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Hi Flatts
Thanks for your great review after staying at the Sundowner Motel recently. Yes its important to time your visit to the Pancake Rocks with a high tide to experience this natural rock formation. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and yes the rear rooms are very quiet, however the front block is double glazed and all rooms a well st back from the road. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

we arrived in Greymouth after a 6hour drive from Blenheim with stops along the way.
the weather had been fabulous until we pulled into Greymouth where it was drizzling with a cool breeze off the coast. The Sundowner car park was empty but we got a great welcome from the owners, information about the area, and a demonstration of their first class inexpensive laundry facilities (1$NZ to tumble dry).After a very quiet night in a comfortable room we were on our way at 8am. This is an excellent place to stay the night and our cheapest night in New Zealand but one of the most comfortable and I got 2 weeks washing done. They have an excellent exchange book library in the laundry room. We would certainly stay here again in travelling down the west coast.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Hi Brian

Thanks for your fantastic review after staying with us recently. Great to hear that you appreciated our guest laundry facilities and the swap a book library in there. Pleased to know that you both had a comforatble night at the Sundowner Motel and we wish you both happy and safe travels. Regards Murray nd Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

The motel is really well looked after it is keeped to a very high standard the motel rooms are spotlessly clean and serviced daily,the location is perfect its only 200 mtrs from the main shopping area with all great resturants and major takeaways at a easy walk.its a 5 min walk to train station and supermarket.The owners Murray and Wendy are great hosts and have a great sence of humour,nothing is a hassle to help you.we have stayed there 3 times in the past and will definitly go back there.A+

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sundownerwestcoast, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi Cj S and thank you for your fantastic review on the Sundowner Motel. We always enjoy having you stay here and we would like to thank you for your repeat business. Look forward to seeing you next time you are on the West Coast, Cheers Murray and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews