We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChrisKay H
Dunedin, New Zealand

Basic

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Nov 2021via mobile
Extremely basic., poor room layout, fridge sitting on bench, one accessible power point, noisy rooms and reception services provided via a bottle shop. If all you want is a bed for a night, this would do but don’t expect much more in the way of comfort
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $171
  • Agoda.com
    $140
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $184
0.1 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
$163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $159
1.7 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $95
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $95
1.4 km from Recreation Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $149
6.3 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $163
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $163
1.5 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $124
40.4 km from Recreation Hotel
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
20.4 km from Recreation Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Recreation Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
19
13
5
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
13
5
6
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Recreation Hotel Is an immaculate restaurant with the amazing chefs your meal is bound to be more than delicious, the rec has super friendly service. Always a perfect atmosphere and to top it off after dinner enjoy a desert from the mouth-watering menu !

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rubyrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Accommodation very good value for money clean and tidy. Them staff very friendly and helpful. Courtesy pick up from train station we very much appreciated. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent really delicious and generous portions. I would recommend staying and dining here if you visit Greymouth. We will definitely be back!

Room tip: I prefer the ground floor room as no stairs to climb.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank womeningrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

The front bar was full of friendly locals happy to share their space with out of towners who were impinging on their turf. There was a wide range of drinks from beer right through to top shelf. There was also pub grub if you were hungry plus a restaurant out back, which was first class. You’ll get well looked after here!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank philm230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019

The ambience of the restaurant was great. The food was hot and served with a smile.
Such a delicious menu, that we had trouble choosing what to select. The whitebait fritters were the best we have eaten anywhere. The service was attentive but not intrusive and we will certainly recommend this restaurant to everyone. Fine dining without the high cost. A must if you visit Greymouth.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

7 if us rocked up to the restaurant , we hadnt booked. They had no problem getting us a table even though they were busy.
The food was fantastic. All 7 of us loved our meals. Good serving size , hot and delicious. We will certainly be back

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bigtchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews