We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

The Speight's Ale House
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Greymouth
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Newly renovated, The Greymouth Speight's Ale House has a new winter menu but with the same legendary selection of beers and wine. Open everyday from 11:30am, we have a cosy indoor fire and outdoor seating and we welcome you with good old fashioned Kiwi hospitality. Our food and beverage offerings celebrate the best of local fare, with the freshest and finest ingredients cooked with passion.
Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

Went with wife’s relations. I ordered the pork dish
Was superb! Loverly crackly, meat moist well cooked. I enjoyed every morsel. Washed down with a couple of pilsners. Life is good. Recommended

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Horotane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2018

The service was way better than the meal.
Ok for a pub meal blue cod chips and salad
Value for money average.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank wayneh765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

This was like stepping back in time. High ceilings, copper stills, cosy armchairs. The atmosphere was very welcoming. There was an extensive selection of beers plus a varied food menu with a large dining area. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank smp110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2018

This is the star of Greymouth. Very friendly staff and a good range of beers, wines and food. Topped off with a lovely building.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

Great service!! went for lunch and had seafood chowder which was amazing and gave me gluten free toast with it.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kaisiedaisie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Speight's Ale House also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to The Speight's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing