We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Koon
Singapore, Singapore

A warm and beautiful place to stay in

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Dec 2018via mobile
Victor and his family show us great hospitality and made us felt at home. It was an amazing experience staying there, watching the sunset along the horizon and the interior of the accommodation was beautifully designed and comfortable. Thank you Victor and family!
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Booking.com
$163
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.3 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $183
1.3 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $75
  • Expedia.com
    $89
0.1 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
living room
Booking.com
$172
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Priceline
1.6 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $95
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $95
2.7 km from South of the Barber
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $175
7.6 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
    $153
  • Priceline
0.4 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rapahoe - location of Beachview Motel
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $198
9.1 km from South of the Barber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
Booking.com
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
40.6 km from South of the Barber
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
19.1 km from South of the Barber
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
3
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
3
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

we are travelling as a family and we felt sl warmly welcome there. There have been books for my kids and we felt like the owners understood how kids are and they were so nice to them (and to us, of course, too :)). The house is very old but all the facilities were perfectly clean and our room was decorated so lovely. I didn't want to leave this place but we only could stay for one night, due to our plans.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank xell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Victor was super welcoming, he was really friendly and let us into our room earlier than the official check-in time which was amazing. Our room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for a night's stay. Great to be able to park the motorbikes at the back of the property away from the road. Thank you for an enjoyable stay, we will see you again next time we are over on the coast!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrobinson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Victor welcomed me with open arms and made me feel at home. The room was nice and clean and Victor gave me some tips about the surrounding area. There was a nice space to cook and eat so you won't have to spend money going out every night.
Would definitely come again.

Room tip: My room was close to the bathroom, which was nice.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sightseer824074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2018

I stayed here for a week, then extended my stay longer as I have absolutely loved it here! The staff are so friendly and approachable, going out of their way to ensure you are satisfied.
This place has a home away from home feel and is a quiet, but central location. The rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. Highly recommend anyone stay here, it is an absolute gem! Big thanks to Victor and the team for such great hospitality.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NickyR560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We had a room reservation with Victor for one night stop over in Greymouth through airbnb. Our reservation said check in from 1pm to 10pm so when we got off the train we walked the distance to the address with our luggage and were disappointed to find we were unable to check in. Everything looked nice inside including a library with a fireplace right across from the check in counter and rooms upstairs and downstairs, however there was no one at the reception desk. We walked around the building and even used the restrooms (which were clean) and asked if anyone was around but there was no one to be found.
Miscommunication happen and we were not upset however we had your reservations and were tired of lugging our baggage around so after an hour we booked reservations at another hotel (Kingsgate which was very very nice and a much better deal for your money). When I cancelled the reservation on airbnb and asked Victor for a refund he shot back with a lot of anger about how we were lying about ever being there and saying his wife was at the reception desk the entire time, which she obviously wasn't because we were in and out of the check in area numerous times looking to check in. I suspect Victor could check surveillance tape and see that we were there but instead he sent us many very rude messages that were pretty aggressive. I think likely he is an unstable person and we were lucky not to stay there. He refused to refund us our 70 dollars, but more than the money we were upset by the principal that he called us liars, told us we were never in his building (I even shared with him details of the check in desk where a cell phone was charging and that there were chocolate eggs in a dish on the counter and the Wi-Fi password which was written on small strips of paper) and that we had the wrong check in time. It seems that he was reaching for reasons we were wrong when I think likely someone just took a long break from the desk and left it unattended for an hour.

While everything looked decent, I recommend staying at the local Kingsgate for an extra $10 and you get your own room, bathroom, parking and a nice place for dinner or breakfast right near down town. Victor is not a nice person if he is angry with you and i think he could be very aggressive.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CkmmmJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
victordavido1, Front Office Manager at South of the Barber, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hello there,

We have the best ratings in our segment in booking.com with a stellar 9.7 in staff. The retailer talked to you, they talked to us and they agreed with us. Addittionally, they took down your response because your reference to the character of our staff is not only contradictory to well over 900 other accepted reviews but also because it was contraditory to well stablished policies. Frankly, your reference as to the character of our very high rated staff should had been vetted by Trip Advisor. Particularly, when you never discussed anything with any staff member at the site. You have alleged that you came to the property and that you were not able to meet anybody. However, the cleaning team was there, and everybody else was there. Then you have estated that you talked to us on the phone (exclusively) and this is true. You demanded a refund and you were simply told that you should relate the facts to Airbnb and that they would decide based on their policies whether the facts as related by you had credibility etc. As you know, the refund was ZERO and, also as you know, your review was inmediately taken down by Airbnb.

In your posting, you also seem to recommend a different accommodattion in Greymouth. We have no problem there. However, the average price difference between one place and the other is in excess of $100 per nite. Easy to check by anyone out there.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews