We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bruce K
Auckland, New Zealand

The worst hospitality experience I have ever encountered

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Ode to Greymouth Hospitality

On April 5, 2024, oh what a day,
From Franz Josef Medical Centre, we made our way.

Stranded in Greymouth on that fateful night,🏥
Seeking a motel, things didn't go quite right.🏢

12 approaches all over town we tried,
Multiple emails, calls and searches, our patience was fried.✍️

Because our 4-year-old schnauzer wanted to come along,🐕
And that's where our troubles began to prolong.🤔

Yelled at, abused, told to leave with our furry friend,
Hospitality in Greymouth seemed to come to an end.😰

Even with a confirmed booking from booking.com,👎
The Greymouth Kiwi turned us away, what a sham.😬

Unpleasant encounters, one after the other,
Rude and demanding, like no other.🥲

11 out of 12 approaches, not even one star,
Hospitality industry, you've fallen far.❎❎

But we kept our spirits high, and our smiles bright,😃
For in the end, we found a place in Hokitika that treated us right.🎆

So here's to April 5, a day to remember,
In Greymouth, where hospitality's ember. 😊🏨🐾
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Understand that booking.com does not provide accurate information as to the requirements as to...
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $218
3.6 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $95
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $95
2.9 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Beachfront
living room
$172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $172
3.9 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.2 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.2 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Agoda.com
39.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$139
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $139
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $139
5.7 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
24.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $193
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Expedia.com
    $89
5.5 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
61
56
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
56
23
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2024

The motel room was spacious and very clean
We had all we needed including a little bottle of fresh milk and plunger coffee along with a plunger. Towels could be replaced on request and the shower was hot with good pressure. The layout of the room allowed plenty of fresh air flow with windows that opened. When it got cold at night there was an electric blanket on the bed and two heaters. The tv worked easily with plenty of viewing options
The staff were very friendly.
There was a spa we could have used but didn’t get to it on this stay. Also a barbeque and easy access to the beach. On site parking and free wifi

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GreenInsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2022

On arrival I open room to terrabe stench the room was filthy dirty after my first night I ask for another room cleaner tells me owner is in Christchurch she comes to room is not able see the filth she goes call owner I hear nothing ihave to put up with 2 nights in dirty room I post negative feed back on booking.com get stop moaning as a response. I will attach pics you be the judge

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2021

This Holiday Park is an excellent value for a powered campsite, especially for just one person. Some places charge for a minimum of two people, which is pricey when I come alone. I have camped here three times in the last six years and the price has not increased. The bathrooms, kitchen and lounge were all clean and well maintained. I made good use of the extra space when I needed it.
Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

If you want to have a crack at surf-casting, then this is the spot. The beach is right next door and you feel like you have it all to yourself. Free showers with no time limit, which is always a bonus. Good sized kitchen - it did have a hot water tap that wouldn't turn off but I'm sure they will fix it when the power bill arrives. Nice and tidy. Stayed in the powered site for campervan. Dog friendly.

Date of stay: February 2021
1  Thank nursealana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

We Stayed 2 nights with no issues at these comfortable and clean accommodations. But due to chronic pain health issues for my husband he was unable to get up and leave for the usual checkout time. This happens occasionally for him and out of his control. I asked for late checkout for 1 pm but was told this was not allowed and this created great problems for bookings in the place. ( which was not full on a monday night) For us to stay till 1 pm just 2 hours later, i would have to pay 130$ for an extra night . There was no interest in our dilemma no half day rate no extended late checkout.. Left with no other choice we paid the 130$ with the intent to leave at one. However as we had paid , we stayed in the room till 4 pm before leaving for home.

Headed home to Christchurch feeling bruised and bereft of the usual kiwi understanding and hospitality.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nznrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews