We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
denisel930
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand

Nothing Special

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jun 2019
This place is fine for a night but it's certainly nothing special. The TV in the lounge is an antique and I couldn't even figure out how to work it. The spa was being ripped out and replaced so that was bad timing but a new spa will be nice for future guests. A previous review I'd read kept mentioning that check out was at 10am and I laughed when I got there and realised his point - there are notices everywhere reminding you of the check out time - funny!
Date of stay: June 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$220
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $195
4.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $95
2.9 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Beachfront
living room
$172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $172
3.9 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $175
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Agoda.com
    $78
5.5 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
8.2 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Agoda.com
39.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
$154
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $154
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $154
5.7 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
24.1 km from Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
61
56
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
56
23
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Having recently returned from a long holiday touring NZ in a motorhome we are now reviewing all of the 31 different campsites we stayed at. This one was, by a clear margin, the worst. The chalets etc may be okay so my comments should not necessarily put visitors off staying in them but our motorhome experience was dreadful. We would not mark down anywhere for the odd bad comment (which after all is subjective) but we are struggling to find anything nice to say. Firstly, the entrance to the camp is not particularly welcoming nor is the trek round and through the buildings to the office, especially when it is wet as it was when we stayed there. Then, the lady in the office was the most miserable and unhelpful receptionist/owner we came across in NZ. We were obviously disturbing her TV viewing. She didn't want to or couldn't answer the questions we asked of her and clearly hasn't learned yet how to smile. She was not rude but she was unhelpful. It was a Saturday and the camp was quiet so we got the impression that she may have been 'filling-in' but that is still no excuse. Then, the site she asked us to park in was on a corner - it wasn't the easiest to park in and we wouldn't have minded if the camp had been busy, but there were lots of others which were empty, and remained empty. Then, to cap it all, we were right next to the dump station (literally within 2 metres). This was totally unacceptable. Needless to say we did not stay there any longer, we had a further 3 nights in Greymouth in the Top 10 campsite which was as good as this campsite was bad!!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed in a one-bedroom apartment which was very clean, spacious, warm, and had all the necessities including a rice cooker. Beds werr extremely comfortable! Was quiet, well-presented and close to Greymouth, and the manager went above and beyond to accommodate. She was lovely and offered impeccable service.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Schrammbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

Although the motel room was clean and the beds were comfortable, it had the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a motel and we just feel the place needs modernising, don't stay here expecting nice sea views or views at all actually, would not stay again or recommend, sometimes you really do get what you pay for

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K3538CImichelleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2018

How nice to walk into such a clean, bright, spacious room! It beat the previous 2 places we'd seen in Greymouth hands down. Just wished we could have stayed longer. There are many touches you do not expect to find in a motel which enhance the experience. The place (and owners) are a breath of fresh air!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chamaedrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Nice place and staff friendly. Good Kitchen and showers. Unlimited wifi and free spa (but we didn't use it).
Amazing sunrise only 2 min walking on the beach!
A bit noises in the morning with the traffic Road.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 497audreyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreymouthKIWINZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thans for taking the time to send in a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully if you get a chance to stay again you will get to use the spa pool. We hope that the rest of your travels are going well and that you are enjoying travelling around out country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews