We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Turmeric Indian Whangarei
Ranked #4 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $10 - $25
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Great food with both Indian and non-Indian guests. A small restaurant with good service and tasty food. Oddly they have a bar and beer but no wine - it's BYOB for wine

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjmike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajesh Singh, Owner at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Hi cjmike, thank you for your feedback.
Seems like there was some miss communication, we do have wine as well, we have two separate menu one with beer and one with wine.
Hope to see you soon again in future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

Nice location. Great staff. Wonderful meal and generous portions. We had been looking for a restaurant on a Sunday evening and many were closed or practically empty. We found this restaurant just by following the lovely Indian food aromas.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023

Came across this restaurant while looking for somewhere to eat.
Prompt and friendly service by the staff, we did not have to wait long to be served.
Food was plentiful and delicious, would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scenic19676987766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Divine recipes, excellent service, pleasant ambience and all home made food. We've eaten Indian food in many different places and this is very high quality. Thank you for a delicious evening!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajesh Singh, Owner at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Thank you aylamiller for giving us such a nice feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

Lovely and quaint, just big enough to be able to have great food and awesome conversations without the hum of other diners.
Food was very tasty and filling AND very good value for money.
Staff were discreet but attentive. I would definitely recommend for anyone to dine in at Tumeric.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajesh Singh, Owner at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Thank you so much ginae880, hope to see you soon.
Team Turmeric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turmeric Indian Whangarei also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Turmeric Indian Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.