We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out”

Turmeric Indian Whangarei
Ranked #4 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $10 - $25
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Reviewed 5 September 2023

Lovely and quaint, just big enough to be able to have great food and awesome conversations without the hum of other diners.
Food was very tasty and filling AND very good value for money.
Staff were discreet but attentive. I would definitely recommend for anyone to dine in at Tumeric.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajesh Singh, Owner at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Thank you so much ginae880, hope to see you soon.
Team Turmeric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2023

Lunch special us the best value for money in Whangarei lunchtime. Their mild is just the right amount if slightly spicy that it has the taste but is certified safe for wimps like me. Comes out quick and its the perfect price and portion for a walk around town. One day ill be brave enough to branch out but i alwase go for lamb rogan josh.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Roving25772556788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajesh Singh, Owner at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Thank you Roving, hope to see you soon.
kind regard,
Team Turmeric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

So i arrived about 16:10 so was early and i also chose an outside table which hadn't been set up, so bear that in mind when reading the comments. I'm also on holiday from England so I'm comparing this from a pretty high bar .
My waiter I assume waiter as he was dressed in sweatpants and a tatty T shirt. My guess is the front of house A team hadn't clocked in yet. Regardless the guy was very helpful got me a beer and took the order. I chose a bland mango chicken and peshwari nan. The chicken was excellent and there was more than enough. The nan although well stuffed was flat and uninspiring. Nans usually plump up in the oven this one was just a flat pancake.
The waiter once the food was delivered went AWOL and i never got a second drink and eventually pinched napkins and everything else from an inside table myself.
To be fair this may be what New Zealanders consider as normal but for me the food was just ok but the service was below par.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank 262jimn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roving17060140354, General Manager at Turmeric Indian Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Hi 262jimn thank you for your feedback, yes you are correct you came early when our restaurant was not open and we were just setting up for dinner rush, and we do not setup outside table due to uncertainty of weather, and we had no staff at that time when you came in restaurant because that was our before hour, as you compairing us with some high quality bar then I really suggest you to please check trading hour of any restaurant before visiting them, sometimes thsi can upset you as not every restaurant is 24x7, but good to hear that you liked our food, hope to see you soon some other time.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2022

We were walking the streets looking for a decent meal after watching a movie and stumbled upon this gem. The food was excellent as was the service.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 111lyallc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

This restaurant used to be my favourite. It has changed hands and the food was obviously of a different standard. Tasteless and chewy naan, mixed platter not the same, flavor is lacking and much smaller portions. Curry was average.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank MJH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Turmeric Indian Whangarei also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Turmeric Indian Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.