We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cuisine”

Turmeric Indian Whangarei
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $10 - $25
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Indian Food with Specialized Wine Menu focusing on local Northland wines.
Reviewed 31 May 2020

Best Indian ever!!!!!!!! Seriously. Two adults, one kid. One vegan. We all agree this was the best in New Zealand by far. Great atmosphere. Good wine. Thanks to the friendly lady who served us and the absolute BEST veg pakora ever! Prawn malabari and veg korma. Will visit again.

Date of visit: May 2020
4  Thank Etrechia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2020

Fantastic and persnal service, would recommend you eat here. The quality of the food is the best Indian meal i have had.

Date of visit: May 2020
2  Thank JockFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2020 via mobile

Went here for dinner a few nights ago and man was it a good decision! Wasn't really sure which dish to order so we asked the staff for help and she was very helpful in describing flavours and how our choices differed. We had the vege samosa, lamb madras, daal makhani, and garlic naan. The mains came with rice so no need to order it on the side. All of the dishes were really really good, heat was enough even if one was ordered hot. But if you're not good with heat, let the staff know and they'll adjust it to your preference ☺️ Not a big fan of lamb but I ate a lot of it, because it was cooked very well and the flavours were just awesome. They have an extensive menu which might be a bit confusing if you're not familiar with indian food but they have a short description wih each dish so that helps. Otherwise, ask for help. Overall was a really good experience, really good food (best daal and garlic naan we've ever had), and price is definitely worth it! You guys should open a branch in Auckland 😝 Don't miss them if you're in Whangarei.

Date of visit: May 2020
2  Thank maureenceniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We ordered food which was enough takeaway for lunch the next day. We ordered "medium" which was sufficient heat for all our taste buds; even mild I suspect would be very tasty. Raita was thin and a good counterpoint to the heat of the mains. The decor was comfortable, with outside seating on the tourist mall available. Live jazz was being played outdoors for all mall diners next door. A most enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WHassan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Good selection on menu and good prices. Relaxed, space to sit outside. Friendly staff. Look forward to visiting again.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank 2008J-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Turmeric Indian Whangarei also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Turmeric Indian Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.