We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mother's day out”

Shiraz Haveli Indian Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #11 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Shiraz Indian Restaurant was the first truly successful Indian restaurant established in Whangarei. We have pleasure in bringing you the finest ethnic cuisine which evokes nostalgia of a glorious bygone era! Jaswant Singh and his team bring you the spicy, tantilising taste of India with a menu large and diverse enough for you to return again and again without ever tasting the same dish twice! You choose the degree of spiciness whenh you order either at the restaurant or for your home delivery. Traditional dishes from the best of authentic Mughlai and North Indian cuisine are there to tempt you, whether they be chicken, lamb, beef, seafood or one of many vegetarian dishes. Don't be concerned if you don't think you can cope with a hot, spicey curry as mild curries are available for those with a more sensitive palate. If you're feeling brave, try a hot Beef Vindalloo! As well as a huge range of curries, Shiraz offers a large selection of Indian breads and entrees to round out your meal. And after your meal perhaps a bowl of mango ice-cream would be nice to finish? Bookings are not essential but it is a good idea to call in advance as some nights are busier than others. SHIRAZ is a lisenced restaurant and has an excellent range of wines, NZ & Indian beers. SHIRAZ can be found in; Whangarei, Kamo and Dargaville. 5 Reasons why you'll have a great time at Shiraz 1. You'll have delicious freshly prepared chicken, lamb, beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. 2. Your meal is prepared with the finest fresh locally sourced vegetables and dairy products. 3. Awarded A+ Merit food licence for food safety, cleanliness & training programmes. 4. Have a family friendly restaurant and children's menu. 5. Guaranteed you'll leave satisfied... Simple.
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

We wanted to thank you for our booking and meal experience at early lunch today. You provided an excellent service and the food was very good. Loved the lamb dosa in particular. We would encourage others to attend as there were lots of spare tables today. Thanks once again to staff and chefs.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2023

We come here often and service is fantastic we always are greeted and the food is amazing never had a bad experience we highly recommend Shiraz on Walton Street. Love this place 😄

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Came for dinner and I ordered lamb korma and this was all I was served. Highly disappointed. Never coming back.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Joy_MJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Great Indian food! Dine in or take away - you will be back here many times! Food was excellent; service with a smile; and good value here. Make sure you visit here!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2020

Stopped in for lunch during the week. Excellent selection and value from the lunch menu.
Options for spiciness of selection accurate and tasty. ( Hot means Hot!)

Staff polite and most accommodating to my fiancee's no oil , dairy or meat needs.

Service prompt , surroundings themed and clean. Excellent value.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carlfreimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jaswantm2014, Owner at Shiraz Haveli Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2020

HI Dear Carlfreimaan,
Thanks for your review . Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Shiraz Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Haveli Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Shiraz Haveli Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.