We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Split Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'DOBRI DOSLI' - WELCOME TO SPLIT Enjoy a tasty cooked meal using fresh local produce and seafood, and succulent New Zealand lamb & beef. There is beer on tap and a range of beautiful New Zealand wines. Whether you are dining with us or simply wish to enjoy the atmosphere, a glass of wine and a delicious mezze platter after work, you are always welcome at Split. The two separate areas within Split, cater for a restaurant dining experience with cocktail bar, or a garden bar with a fun relaxed atmosphere, and a giant screen to entertain if desired. You can find us opposite the Post Office in Rathbone St, Whangarei.
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

Amazing food and service
Had BBQ chicken and friend had Fish of the Day both meals well presented and delicious
Highly recommend a visit

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank campo-holics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Split was busy, so alas we had to have a cocktail in the garden bar until a table was free. So difficult!😄

We were seated in less time than predicted and took some time to look over the menu. The entree we shared was very experimental for me; never had lambs fry before and this was a beautiful way to try it. The sauce aline was worth it but the whole dish was beautifully presented and had amazing flavour combinations. If you have a small appetite this entree with a side would be plenty for dinner.

For mains my partner had the pork belly and I had the prosciutto wrapped chicken. Both came perfectly cooked and presented. The choice and preparation of the vegetables/salads that came with both dishes were a little bit elevated and went brilliantly with the meats.

This is a special place for a really good meal.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Kirstin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

We were greeted as we walked in and offered drinks and the menu options the Fish of the day was Beer Battered Snapper or Hapuka Pan Fried, both were amazingly presented and tasted so nice, the service was excellent, thank you for an enjoyable evening to catch up with friends, recommend.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

2nd visit here... had hoped for a nice dinner out with my bestie. We were greeted and seated with nice friendly service (by the nice owner). However, that's unfortunately where it ended. We were then served by the (unfriendly owner). It was awful. He seemed so uninterested, bordering rude.
Our happy mood soon dissipated, receiving average food and listening to depressing music.
An issue settling our bill, got chased down the road to come back and pay again (they had charged us for the wrong table). No apology. Awkward.

Doubt we will bother again. 😕

Date of visit: October 2023
3  Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Manager is a very busy man consistently delivering great food and great service. I come here often and presume he has no time for dweebs like previous precious reviewer

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nomad15491368269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Split Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Split Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.