We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a dweeb”

Split Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'DOBRI DOSLI' - WELCOME TO SPLIT Enjoy a tasty cooked meal using fresh local produce and seafood, and succulent New Zealand lamb & beef. There is beer on tap and a range of beautiful New Zealand wines. Whether you are dining with us or simply wish to enjoy the atmosphere, a glass of wine and a delicious mezze platter after work, you are always welcome at Split. The two separate areas within Split, cater for a restaurant dining experience with cocktail bar, or a garden bar with a fun relaxed atmosphere, and a giant screen to entertain if desired. You can find us opposite the Post Office in Rathbone St, Whangarei.
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Manager is a very busy man consistently delivering great food and great service. I come here often and presume he has no time for dweebs like previous precious reviewer

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nomad15491368269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2023 via mobile

First impressions:
This is the best way to describe the chap (owner/manager) rude is an understatement. Water apparently doesn’t come standard and is an intense effort.
Food:
Ok, but steak not medium rear
Wine:
Average and overpriced

Overall… ok, but he is a dweeb

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Fearless56959837343
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023

Great food and service, would definitely go again.
Friendly staff, food was quick to come out..
Good size meals.

Date of visit: May 2023
1  Thank Coastal60766612210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2023

We had been told about this restaurant by friends but never been so it was a long overdue dinner. . Good choice of meals , good service and they were extra large portions which we took home. Would definitely go back again. I had the seafood chowder as a main and my partner had the beef rib-both delicious. No room left for dessert.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FarAway60063960877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

Great service, and delicious food. Visited as a group of 11 for my Mums birthday. The food was consistent; fresh, tasty and generous. A throughly enjoyable night.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Viv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Split Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Split Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.