We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but cleanliness is questionable”
Review of Dickens Inn

Dickens Inn
Ranked #34 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Second time we had been there for lunch, food was great for what we wanted but one of our glasses had a roach in it and no apology just replaced it, ( hopefully with a new one not just tipped the offending critter ou).

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CarolLoganSumich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018

We were driving through to Bay of Islands and were looking for somewhere to stop off and eat dinner. Found this place to be very busy, so assumed food must be good. We were able to grab the last vacant table. I had chicken fetticini and hubby had fish and chips. We were both extremely happy with our meals. We were with another couple and the staff had no problem to do a bill split. Great atmosphere, great food at great pricing makes a successful establishment. Would definately recommend going here for a meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We decided to watch a game in the bar and have dinner while there. It wasn’t as busy as we thought it would be. We had no sooner sat down than we were asked for our food order. We gave drink orders and said we had not looked at the menu. We then seemed to be forgotten and had to chase them some time later when we were ready. The rugby atmosphere was great, the drinks were very good. The food although well priced was not value for money. We will watch another game there but eat elsewhere. Have been there before just for drinks, that was very enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BruceWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Great service and efficient. Steak was nice . Simple meal not much to go wow over but tasty regardless. Tad hungry after though. Great coffee and appears to be a variety of meals to choose from

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank cafegeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We had a family get together and needed somewhere to go to cater for 12 people. Dickens Inn catered very well for us and had to food presented reasonably quickly. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 19Francis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickens Inn also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Dickens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing