We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting butter chicken”

Divine Indian Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #18 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 February 2023

They probably had a bad batch or changed chef because someone else has also given a bad review today, but the butter chicken was absolutely disgusting. Milky, super sweet. I'm not a fussy eater but I had to spit it out, just disgusting. Very dissapointing. Called them and they answered "well no one else complained". I wish I had not spent 50$ there.

Date of visit: February 2023
1  Thank susieptg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2022

I went to Divine several years ago and really rated it. Today we had the lunch special takeaway, butter chicken and butter paneer. The portions were tiny and mostly 'gravy' with only a couple of pieces of chicken and paneer. The gravy had the consistency of soup not curry and it was sooooo sweet we couldn't eat it, even after adding salt, so it went down the toilet. Now I feel sick.

The person who took our order and served us needs to learn some customer service and people skills. Not at all friendly or welcoming. I was also slightly over charged from what I was told it wold be when I called the order in. If they do that to everyone it soon mounts up.

We most certainly will not be going back and certainly do not recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WellTravelledFoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Amazing quality, they make it actually spicy for me (unlike most places) amazing VEGAN options, generous portions and are super friendly!! I moved to Auckland but this is still my favourite ever and I wait to come up here to get my fix because nowhere else is as good ^_^ thank you so much guys ~ Monnie

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Monniekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2020

Service was friendly and the food very good, priced well if you are wanting a quality lunch at a reasonable price Divine is recommended.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tearoha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2020

We've gone several times and never been disappointed with their delicious food. We lived in Sandringham so had the best of Indian foods to choose from, so to find a good restaurant in Whangarei was such a pleasure :)

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Da_Kween
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Divine Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Divine Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.