We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$270
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Hotels.com
$268
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$270
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road spa pool comfy bed rooms are clean good size motel hospital kitchen nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

I had booked this motel based on the photos and reviews, unfortunately they did not match reality.
Our one bedroom unit was cluttered with a single bed and bed settee with dirty cover in the lounge making the area cramped.
Whilst the kitchen as well equipped it was quite dated.
The bed was comfortable but the window didn't close properly allowing road noise in.
People smoking in the courtyard outside their rooms was also unpleasant if you left a door or window open, I accept that people smoke but when it wafts into rooms I find it difficult.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AllanJane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Hodgson, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi AllanJane,

Thank you for your booking and taking the time to review our Motel.
We are sorry that your expectations were not met.

We don’t have a booking under you name, but we are confident that we know which room you stayed in.
We have inspected the room and cannot find a window that does not close, or the dirty cover you mentioned.

We have recently (before you stayed) had a Window Service and Repairman go through all of our rooms.
This is a regular maintenance job for us.
We think that the new window catch or security stay might have required a bit of extra effort, but we are not sure.

We would have been happy to assist you with any of the problems you had during your stay with us.
We are available from 7AM to 8:30PM and have an urgent afterhours answer service for matters that need to be addressed outside those hours.

As far as the room being cluttered and the photographs not being representative of our rooms goes, our website photographs at https://cheviotpark.co.nz/one-bedroom-suite show various perspectives of our rooms.
We think these are accurate and don’t see a way we can improve on them.
We are also renovating our rooms as we have the opportunity.
We would have been happy to assist you with your booking and recommend a newly renovated room to you if we had the opportunity.

While we sympathise with your displeasure of second-hand smoke, we can only suggest that closing the window or door might have been a good solution.
We may ban smoking altogether at some point however we don’t usually have any complaints about the outdoors smoking areas.

If you ever travel back to Whangarei you might like to consider one of our Three-Bedroom houses for a family of four they are cheaper per person, and as the name suggests providing three bedrooms with six beds in total, a lounge, Kitchen, Dining room, Toilet and Bathroom.
The Houses are very popular with families and larger groups.

We may also be able to recommend other properties more in keeping with your expectations and tastes.

We hope that the rest of your trip went well, and you all arrived home safe and sound.

Regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2023

We just spent 6 nights at the Cheviot park motel, very clean good size for a studio apartment with plenty of storage very comfy bed everything you need in kitchen for cooking . It is well located for traveling around and getting into the town you can walk to the Town Basin in 30 minutes.The only downside is that it is next to the main road so can be a little noisey at times but don’t let this put you off. Finally the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2023
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Hodgson, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2023

Hi Stephen,
Thank you for choosing our Motel and for your review!
We appreciate your feed back and kind words.
Please let us know if we can do anything for you in the future.
If you book directly with us we can offer you a better rate than those listed with the Online agencies and also book the best room we have available for you based on your prefrences.
Hvae a safe trip :)
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

My husband and I recently booked into this motel for just one night, I was scheduled to have surgery at Whangarei Hospital and chose this motel from the AA book ,,we needed to be at the Hospital at 7.00am and with the recent Cyclone and road closures thought it would be wise to be close by. From the moment we booked in the receptionist was so nice and helpful and we could see the motel was set in gorgeous surroundings. The one bedroomed unit was so clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to friends and family . What a shame we didn’t stay longer the pool and spa pool looked amazing, Happy to give this review as they are most deserving.
Patti and George Line, Mangawhai Heads, NZ

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LightPacker783055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2023

Hi Pati and George,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review.
We hope that your trip to the hospital went as well as it could.
We appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our staff.
Our Cleaners and Groundsman take pride in what they do, and it is great to be able to share your words with them.
Please let us know if we can assist you when you next travel to Whangarei.
Please remember we can offer the best rates and service when you book directly with us.
Regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2022 via mobile

What a great apartment! The facilities were clean, the staff friendly and the location was perfect for us. It is just a short walk into town. We will definitely use this again when we are in the area.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N3523IKrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2022

Hi Richard,
thank you for your booking and your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to assist you the next time you travel to Whangarei.
Please dont forget to let us know if you have any prefrences when you book so that we can do our best to make you comfortable while you are with us.
We can offer the best rates and service when our guests book directley with us.
Safe Travels :)
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions, both alone and with our kids. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. They have comfortable beds and the rooms are clean. I'm always happy when I am here

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KaziaMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

Hi,
thank you for your review and choosing to stay at our Motel.
We are glad that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to being able to asist you in the future.
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews