We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road spa pool comfy bed rooms are clean good size motel hospital kitchen nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

My husband and I recently booked into this motel for just one night, I was scheduled to have surgery at Whangarei Hospital and chose this motel from the AA book ,,we needed to be at the Hospital at 7.00am and with the recent Cyclone and road closures thought it would be wise to be close by. From the moment we booked in the receptionist was so nice and helpful and we could see the motel was set in gorgeous surroundings. The one bedroomed unit was so clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to friends and family . What a shame we didn’t stay longer the pool and spa pool looked amazing, Happy to give this review as they are most deserving.
Patti and George Line, Mangawhai Heads, NZ

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LightPacker783055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2023

Hi Pati and George,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review.
We hope that your trip to the hospital went as well as it could.
We appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our staff.
Our Cleaners and Groundsman take pride in what they do, and it is great to be able to share your words with them.
Please let us know if we can assist you when you next travel to Whangarei.
Please remember we can offer the best rates and service when you book directly with us.
Regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2022 via mobile

What a great apartment! The facilities were clean, the staff friendly and the location was perfect for us. It is just a short walk into town. We will definitely use this again when we are in the area.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N3523IKrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2022

Hi Richard,
thank you for your booking and your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to assist you the next time you travel to Whangarei.
Please dont forget to let us know if you have any prefrences when you book so that we can do our best to make you comfortable while you are with us.
We can offer the best rates and service when our guests book directley with us.
Safe Travels :)
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions, both alone and with our kids. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. They have comfortable beds and the rooms are clean. I'm always happy when I am here

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KaziaMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

Hi,
thank you for your review and choosing to stay at our Motel.
We are glad that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to being able to asist you in the future.
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2022

When I searched for a motel, this room was classed as 4-star. It fell short of that rating.
The room is old, worn out, dirty, carpet made my barefeet itchy, had to wear shoes in the room. Electric jug, cutlery, cups were dirty; bathroom and amenities were old, dusty toilet holder. Sheets were not tucked in bed. I will not go there again.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195thoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

Hi There,
thank you for your booking.
We are surprised to hear that you were so unhappy and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We always welcome guest feedback, if you would have preferred a new room, we would have been happy to try and arrange that for you.
We would have appreciated hearing from you while you stayed with us that you were dissatisfied so that we might have been able to do something about it.
Unfortunately, when a booking is not made directly not only does a guest have to pay a higher rate through the online agencies, we also don’t have the opportunity to offer personalised service to acter to our guests.
As a rule, we get very positive feedback and comments from our guests.
We have investigated that room you stayed in and have not been able identify the faults you mentioned however we will so we will be using your feedback to encourage our staff.
While some of our rooms are older than the others, we take pride it is providing clean and tidy rooms which are outfitted with whatever a guest might need.
Our Motel rooms all have Air conditioning Free fast Wi-Fi and we have recently upgraded to new Smart TV's which can access all the digital subscriber services as well as 24 free view channels.
We are renovating our rooms as we have the opportunity and have recently completed refurbishing our disability suite.
We hope that the rest of your travels went well for you.
Regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022

I’m sorry I can’t give this place a good review. My room was very dirty, there was hair on one towel, an eyelash on the soap so it hadn’t been cleaned, dust on top of the toilet holder and on every wall sill and crumbs in the kitchen. Our carpet was quite stained and felt damp. I didn’t feel at all clean. The customer service was lovely but it wasn’t worth $160 especially as the pool and hot tub was closed which wasn’t in the advertising. I do apologise I don’t leave bad reviews, maybe I just got a very old room but it was not an enjoyable stay 😞

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Experience723639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

Hi Tabitha,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy.
We will be looking into what we could have improved on.

When guests book through the Online agencies we don’t really get the opportunity to offer choices in which room they are allocated.
There should have been a pre arrival email sent to you three days before your arrival which you might have received through the booking.com messaging system, which informs you that the pools are closed.
The timing of that email is deliberate in that it allows a Guest the opportunity to makes changes without attracting the online agencies late cancellation penalties.

We are renovating our rooms as the opportunity allows.
We did have a renovated room that we could have offered you if we had known you would have preferred one.
The room you stayed in is the next on the list for an update.

As far as the dust and crumbs go, we will talk to our cleaners about it.
We make every effort to offer rooms that are clean and tidy and what you discovered is not acceptable.
I am curious about the soaps; you should have had new soaps in individual packaging.
Was that that case in your room?
With omicron working its way through the community we have staff shortages as people isolate.
Our experienced Cleaners are working a lot more hours and it is possible that some are not coping with the extra work.
We have new people learning how to do the job, but they are usually supported by the rest of the team to avoid missing details.
In any case we apologise for your disappointment.

We appreciate you getting in touch to let us know about your experience.

If we could offer a suggestion, we would recommend booking directly with accommodation providers where you can.
The rate for the room we would have offered you would have been at least 7% less than the Overseas agencies might have charged you.
In your case the commission we pay for the booking being through them instead of our website or directly was $ 19.90
They do offer special discounts at times for their registered customers, however if we can see proof of a rate they are offering, and it is in our local currency we can usually match it or better it. The Online agencies are based offshore and all the revenue they extract from local companies also goes offshore with little contribution to the local economy in wages or tax.
We are also able to provide direct customer service and respond to requests and questions whereas the Online agencies do not of that other than indirectly through their messaging systems which they censor.

Please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you.
Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews