We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Thom L
Good customer service but dirty and old
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jun 2022
When I searched for a motel, this room was classed as 4-star. It fell short of that rating.
The room is old, worn out, dirty, carpet made my barefeet itchy, had to wear shoes in the room. Electric jug, cutlery, cups were dirty; bathroom and amenities were old, dusty toilet holder. Sheets were not tucked in bed. I will not go there again.
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$264
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $264
0.5 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Distinction Whangarei Hotel opposite Town Basin Marina
Tripadvisor
$200
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$197
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $197
10.4 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$219
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.6 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance.
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $150
3.3 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Discovery Settlers Whangarei Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Algotels
5.9 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $111
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
View more hotels in Whangarei
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
53
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road spa pool comfy bed rooms are clean good size motel hospital kitchen nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2022

I’m sorry I can’t give this place a good review. My room was very dirty, there was hair on one towel, an eyelash on the soap so it hadn’t been cleaned, dust on top of the toilet holder and on every wall sill and crumbs in the kitchen. Our carpet was quite stained and felt damp. I didn’t feel at all clean. The customer service was lovely but it wasn’t worth $160 especially as the pool and hot tub was closed which wasn’t in the advertising. I do apologise I don’t leave bad reviews, maybe I just got a very old room but it was not an enjoyable stay 😞

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Experience723639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

Hi Tabitha,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy.
We will be looking into what we could have improved on.

When guests book through the Online agencies we don’t really get the opportunity to offer choices in which room they are allocated.
There should have been a pre arrival email sent to you three days before your arrival which you might have received through the booking.com messaging system, which informs you that the pools are closed.
The timing of that email is deliberate in that it allows a Guest the opportunity to makes changes without attracting the online agencies late cancellation penalties.

We are renovating our rooms as the opportunity allows.
We did have a renovated room that we could have offered you if we had known you would have preferred one.
The room you stayed in is the next on the list for an update.

As far as the dust and crumbs go, we will talk to our cleaners about it.
We make every effort to offer rooms that are clean and tidy and what you discovered is not acceptable.
I am curious about the soaps; you should have had new soaps in individual packaging.
Was that that case in your room?
With omicron working its way through the community we have staff shortages as people isolate.
Our experienced Cleaners are working a lot more hours and it is possible that some are not coping with the extra work.
We have new people learning how to do the job, but they are usually supported by the rest of the team to avoid missing details.
In any case we apologise for your disappointment.

We appreciate you getting in touch to let us know about your experience.

If we could offer a suggestion, we would recommend booking directly with accommodation providers where you can.
The rate for the room we would have offered you would have been at least 7% less than the Overseas agencies might have charged you.
In your case the commission we pay for the booking being through them instead of our website or directly was $ 19.90
They do offer special discounts at times for their registered customers, however if we can see proof of a rate they are offering, and it is in our local currency we can usually match it or better it. The Online agencies are based offshore and all the revenue they extract from local companies also goes offshore with little contribution to the local economy in wages or tax.
We are also able to provide direct customer service and respond to requests and questions whereas the Online agencies do not of that other than indirectly through their messaging systems which they censor.

Please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you.
Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

Value for money it was fine. The unit was clean, the sheets and bed good, reception was helpful and friendly. It had a good bathroom arrangement and apart from a few minor things it all looked normal. It is close to a main road and the traffick noise is part of the deal.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Hi Dennis,
thank you for your booking and your review.
When you next stay with us please let us know that you would prefer a quiet room away from the road.
We are more than happy to assist in selecting the best room for you when you make your booking.
We hope that you have a great Holiday break and new year.

regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2020

Tim and Jan at reception were very friendly and accommodating. Due to bad weather, we decided to change our bookings and leave early. They were very receptive to our concerns and did not mind it one bit. The room we got was great! It was clean and tidy, with double-glazed windows, so it turned out to be a short but very comfortable and peaceful stay. Since we were new to the area, Tim was also kind enough to offer suggestions on places to visit/eat, bearing in mind we had two young kids. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim H, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2020

Hi There,
we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is a shame that the weather cut your trip to Whangarei short.
With the Covid19 lock down being relaxed it would have been a shame to be stuck in doors in a Motel room while the storm passed!
Please let us know if we can assist you when you make plans to travel North again
We hope that you are safe and well.
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 3 week tour of NZ
Tim the owner or manager greeted us with a real friendly smile. He told us about the area, where to eat etc aswell as giving us the run down on our room.
It was clean quiet & comfy especially after 36 hours travel. This was exactly what we wanted locally for wherelse we wanted to go.
So thank you to The Cheviot for giving us a good springboard for the rest of our tour

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim H, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Hi Russell,
Thank you for your review!
we are glad the your time in New Zealand has had a good start and that we were able to assist you.
Please let us know if you are planning on returning to Whangarei we would like to be able help if we can.
Please remember we can offer the best rates and service if you contact us directly to book.
All the best.
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

It’s a rare thing to find somewhere that just feels warm & welcoming - a place you were loathe to leave but this was one of them.
Loved the private feel that the trellis round the front of the unit gave you. The room was spacious & kitchen well stocked. Dining table easily seated four & TV had Sky.
Towels in the bathroom were thick & soft with extra towels in the bedroom cupboard. Shower water pressure was excellent with lots of hot water. Bed was super comfy ( with electric blanket if you needed one) & spare pillows. There was an iron, ironing board & hairdryer.

The owner was absolutely ace & very helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RosWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheviotpark, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2020

Hi Ross,
thank you so much for your review.
We really appreciate knowing that we have been able to make your stay with us a pleasant one.
Please let us know if we are able to help you in the future.
We are able to offer the best rates and service when you book directly with us.
Safe traveling!
regards
Tim and Jan Hodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews