We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
Priceline
$201
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Agoda.com
$198
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
300
41
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
300
41
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand lovely breakfast comfortable bed great room andy orchard host nz accommodation whangerei furnishings falls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We had a fabulous stay at Lupton. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have all you need in terms of kitchen requirements. Great bathroom with a good shower as well. The gardens are lovely with lots of fruit trees, oranges, lemons, limes, plums and grapefruit. You will wake up to birdsong and cows mooing. Nothing is too much trouble for the host. Andy, chef and owner, will whip you up a fabulous breakfast and or dinner, my suggestion being the Thai green curry. Careful attention paid to dietary requirements as well. There is a tranquil entertainment area with books and cds and a lovely dining area to enjoy your meals in. Well worth a visit to a beautiful part of Whangarei. Thank you Andy. We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SallyAnnNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Raven, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2021

Thankyou so much for your review Sally, and glad you had a memorable stay. Look forward to seeing you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Thanks so much Andy for looking after Sally and I on our girl's time out! I appreciated your quick responses from my first enquiry, and all was as you promised. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we chose the meal package which came with a complimentary bottle of wine - as we booked direct - we received a $30 drinks voucher. So appreciated! It didn't stop there - we were treated to a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. Highly recommended - and your hiking and shopping recommendations were all on the mark as well. Thanks so much!

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

A fantastic base for our diving

Awesome accommodation that allowed us to relax and be very comfortable, with two teenagers the open outdoor space was a great extra

Thank you Andy for all your efforts we will be back

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank grahamangie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Lupton Lodge
We had an extremely comfortable, spacious room at the front of this hotel and were able to regroup after a lot of travelling around. The host was a very good chef who made dinner we had ordered from choices we made before our stay. It felt very relaxed and special to dine in the attractive dining room, it was quiet and peaceful and gave us a break from running around looking for a restaurant.

The next day the younger ones of our party went diving at Poor Knights. We had not realised they would bring so much dive gear in the other couple’s car and that they were going elsewhere afterwards, so we somehow had to get all the gear and four people into our car. We tried to hire another car but couldn’t find anyone willing to rent us a car that we were not bringing back. When we told our kindly host, Andrew Raven, about our dilemma over breakfast, he could not have been more helpful. He rang around and got us a rental from a local firm which meant we could put all the gear into two vehicles. That made a huge difference to our comfort on the long trip from there to Auckland.

We were extremely impressed and would gladly stay again at Lupton Lodge.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Rozaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2020

I could probably cover this off in 2 words “highly recommended” but I think a bit more is expected. We only stopped one night on our journey north and were thoroughly delighted with Lupton Lodge. We stayed in the Green room, downstairs in the converted barn. It was spacious, clean, bright and well appointed with an adjacent patio area for good measure. The rural setting, only 11/12 mins from downtown Whangarei was charming and peaceful.

Andy was an excellent and helpful host and breakfast was a real treat with all dietary requirements catered for.

Whangarei is not famous for its accommodation but the Lodge ticks all the boxes and yes, is highly recommended.

Room tip: The barn, upstairs or down is a pretty good option.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews