We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
297
41
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
297
41
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit trees poor knights spacious room andy host auckland diving accommodation cds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

A fantastic base for our diving

Awesome accommodation that allowed us to relax and be very comfortable, with two teenagers the open outdoor space was a great extra

Thank you Andy for all your efforts we will be back

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank grahamangie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Lupton Lodge
We had an extremely comfortable, spacious room at the front of this hotel and were able to regroup after a lot of travelling around. The host was a very good chef who made dinner we had ordered from choices we made before our stay. It felt very relaxed and special to dine in the attractive dining room, it was quiet and peaceful and gave us a break from running around looking for a restaurant.

The next day the younger ones of our party went diving at Poor Knights. We had not realised they would bring so much dive gear in the other couple’s car and that they were going elsewhere afterwards, so we somehow had to get all the gear and four people into our car. We tried to hire another car but couldn’t find anyone willing to rent us a car that we were not bringing back. When we told our kindly host, Andrew Raven, about our dilemma over breakfast, he could not have been more helpful. He rang around and got us a rental from a local firm which meant we could put all the gear into two vehicles. That made a huge difference to our comfort on the long trip from there to Auckland.

We were extremely impressed and would gladly stay again at Lupton Lodge.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Rozaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2020

I could probably cover this off in 2 words “highly recommended” but I think a bit more is expected. We only stopped one night on our journey north and were thoroughly delighted with Lupton Lodge. We stayed in the Green room, downstairs in the converted barn. It was spacious, clean, bright and well appointed with an adjacent patio area for good measure. The rural setting, only 11/12 mins from downtown Whangarei was charming and peaceful.

Andy was an excellent and helpful host and breakfast was a real treat with all dietary requirements catered for.

Whangarei is not famous for its accommodation but the Lodge ticks all the boxes and yes, is highly recommended.

Room tip: The barn, upstairs or down is a pretty good option.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2020

We stayed at the Lupton Lodge for the second time, Andy and the family are wonderful hosts. The rooms spotlesly clean and warm (in a kiwi autumn) and the breakfast is superb. Great attention to detail and Andy's so helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to visit

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Away from the craziness of the city, this beautifully restored historic farm house and separate barn are set amongst huge old fruit trees, olive trees and chestnuts.
Cows and sheep graze in adjacent paddocks and the property is surrounded by old stone fences. There is a heated swimming pool which was refreshing. The Lodge is located close to the lovely Whangarei Falls and not far from the beaches and walks if Whangarei Heads.
We stayed 3 nights.
Breakfasts were included and we had various omelettes and other delicious options with lots of good coffee.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Swimworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews