We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Shiraz Indian Restaurant Kamo
Get food delivered
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Whangarei
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Shiraz Indian Restaurant was the first truly successful Indian restaurant established in Whangarei and Dargaville. We have pleasure in bringing you the finest ethnic cuisine which evokes nostalgia of a glorious bygone era!5 Reasons why you’ll have a great time at Shiraz Kamo, Whangarei: 1. You’ll have delicious freshly prepared chicken, lamb, beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. 2. Your meal is prepared with the finest fresh locally sourced vegetables and dairy products. 3. Awarded A+ Merit food licence for food safety, cleanliness & training programmes. 4. Have a family friendly restaurant and children’s menu.5. Guaranteed you’ll leave satisfied… simple.
Restaurant details
Description: Shiraz Indian Restaurant was the first truly successful Indian restaurant established in Whangarei and Dargaville. We have pleasure in bringing you the finest ethnic cuisine which evokes nostalgia of a glorious bygone era!5 Reasons why you’ll have a great time at Shiraz Kamo, Whangarei: 1. You’ll have delicious freshly prepared chicken, lamb, beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. 2. Your meal is prepared with the finest fresh locally sourced vegetables and dairy products. 3. Awarded A+ Merit food licence for food safety, cleanliness & training programmes. 4. Have a family friendly restaurant and children’s menu.5. Guaranteed you’ll leave satisfied… simple.
Reviewed 5 January 2023 via mobile

We went for lunch on a rainy January day, it was excellent.
Service delightful
Food excellent and authentic.
We highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2021

After a fair few dine in and take away meals at this branch of Shiraz, tonight's experience was a tragic comedy of errors, and most disappointing.
Upon arrival, we were met and seated by a lovely young man who throughout the evening really did his best despite the system and kitchen failures. Take away and delivery meals seemed to take priority over dine in customers. With only one table of two seated when we arrived, our order for four people was taken, after about 20 minutes. Starters arrived a further 15 minutes, and then the wait for the mains. Well, surprise, surprise.. only three meals arrived.. the system had glitched and only sent three main meals through to the kitchen. The three meals arrived, and we waited, and waited. The waiter returned to the kitchen to check where it was, and returned to offer our fourth diner, to either have her meal cancelled or as a take away.. as it would take a further 10 minutes to prepare. She asked for them to please prepare the meal which she had been looking forward to as this was a new dish she was trying and it sounded delicious. One of us commented that she hoped the manager would at least credit this meal from the bill, for the inconvenience. The two butter chicken dishes (one ordered mild, the other medium) were mixed up. The Rogan Josh, ordered mild to medium was more spicy than anticipated, but very tasty. To add insult to injury, an unwanted little creature was crawling up the wall right above our heads, and when one of us jumped up in shock, asking for some type of spray or help to get rid of it, the second young man packed out laughing, thinking she was joking.. and immediately when he realised she was not, apologised and came to the rescue. OH MY! We left after being offered a 10% discount for the inconvenience as the manager was not on site and the staff could not remove the meal from the bill. Then when they could not work out how to process the discount, suddenly a lady from the kitchen came out and managed to remove that meal entirely. I feel sorry for the two young men, who seem to have had to spend their working night, apologising to customers (not only us, as we overheard) for the slow service which seemed to continue through the evening. We left the restaurant in fits of laughter, which we are sure could be heard all over Kamo, as we were bid good night with a "see you next time". Presumptuous!? Perhaps a visit to the town branch is on the cards next. Has the chef and / or kitchen staff changed recently?

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raisunfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2021

tasty fresh traditional indian food, pricing is good but the service is a little hit and miss at times.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank TROPICANGLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2021

my first try at genuine indian cuisine and i was more than satisfied.
fantastic. i will go back. ordered a Vindaloo and he threw in a garlic
naan for free. most friendly service and terrific meal. thank you

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

Popped down to our local Shiraz for a takeaway tonight, and it was tasty as ever. Pretty disappointed with the amount of chicken on our curries though, it’s was really poor. I’d even be happy to pay a bit more if it meant a decent amount of meat in the curries, we’ve been noticing it get less and less over the last while.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Duntee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Indian Restaurant Kamo also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Restaurant Kamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.