We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.”
Review of Gengy's

Gengy's
Ranked #26 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Mongolian style BBQ buffet restaurant. Try different combinations of meats, sauces and other fresh ingredients! Pancakes and ice-cream for desert.
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

First time to this store. And found them to be just as great and tasty as any we have been to previously.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank J9225EPjasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

I think the Whangarei branch of Gengy's is the best! The food and service were excellent. I love being able to select my own ingredients and then watch the chef cook it for me while I wait. Four chefs were working the busy grill on the night I was there and they all did a fabulous job. The manager, Anna, is very friendly and her mother's homemade kimchi goes very well with the bowls of Mongolian barbecue. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This restaurant can be a lot of fun. You create your own meal for the chefs to BBQ. Great selection of raw meats, seafood, fresh vegetables, sauces and seasonings to assemble the way you prefer them to be prepared The "all you can eat" concept requires a number of trips to the selection buffet and the staff encourage you to do so. The whole evening is a very social experience with friendly, helpful staff and a substantial bar service at reasonable prices to back it up.
People with imaginative ideas for meal creation will love it, but be careful with the chilli....

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnM19560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Because this place is so good I highly recommend loyalty cards for local customers who dine here often :) would be a great addition

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank _michellebeattie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Went here for my sons birthday. Great experience and very reasonably priced. All you can eat for $29.95. There is a catch though in that if you mix and match wrongly you can end up with some fairly average and unappetising meals. Luckily we got it right most of the time.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ypuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gengy's also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Gengy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing